Home > News & Reviews > Judy Collins

Judy Collins Details First LP Of Original Songs 'Spellbound', Releases When I Was A Girl In Colorado

Thursday, 06 January 2022 Written by Jon Stickler

Judy Collins has announced her 29th album and her sixth in the past six years.

'Spellbound' will arrive on February 25 and marks the American folk icon's first full-length consisting entirely of original material written by herself. 

It was co-produced with longtime collaborator Alan Silverman with singer-songwriter Ari Hest, the latter of whom put out the joint LP 'Silver Skies Blue' with Collins in 2016. Instrumental contributions come from guitarist Thad DeBrock, bassist Zev Katz and drummer Doug Yowell.

The singer-songwriter has written plenty of her own music over her six decade career, though many of her most well known songs have been covers penned by Joni Mitchell, Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, and Stephen Stills, among others. 

Alongside the announcement, the 82-year-old has shared the first single off the record, When I Was A Girl In Colorado, a tender folk song. She said in a statement:

"They say after the plague came the Renaissance. Now felt like the perfect time to make this record because, after all that’s happened in the world, we need something beautiful and inspirational to lift us up."

'Spellbound' tracklist:

1. Spellbound
2. Grand Canyon
3. So Alive
4. Hell on Wheels
5. Shipwrecked Mariner
6. When I Was A Girl In Colorado
7. Thomas Merton
8. Wild with Mist
9. Gilded Rooms
10. Prairie Dreams
11. City of Awakening
12. Arizona


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >