Home > News & Reviews > Spielbergs

Spielbergs Announce Second Album 'Vestli', Share Two New Songs

Monday, 23 May 2022 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Johan Malvik

Spielbergs have announced their second album.

The follow-up to 2020's 'This Is Not The End' is called 'Vestli' and will arrive on August 19 via their new label home Big Scary Monsters.

To accompany the news, the Norwegian trio have dropped two new songs, When They Come For Me and Get Lost. The former is an anthemic rocker, while the latter is a more slow-burning offering, that builds through a powerful crescendo.

Both tracks will feature on the record along with their March single Brother Of Mine, and 2020's Go!, with the group reuniting once more with producer Tord Øverland-Knutsen. Commenting on When They Come For Me, singer and guitarist Mads Baklien said: 

"Sometimes I feel like I am right on the verge of going crazy. It’s like I don’t recognise myself in what I say and do. And sometimes I feel like one day, inevitably, everything will come crashing down."

Discussing the album, he added:

"The songs on 'Vestli' are all more or less about a feeling that there is no way to go. No escape. You are dealing with issues in your mind, regrets, shame, fear, should haves and could haves. No way out. Maybe you don’t like who you are or who you have become. You are stuck with being you. You are dealing with a lot of pressure and noise in your everyday life, and all you want to do sometimes is just to leave everything behind and find a quiet place somewhere to start a new life. But you can’t. You have commitments and responsibilities. You're going nowhere. And now on top of everything, the entire world seems like an out-of-control aeroplane with a bunch of f***ing nuts behind the wheel. And there is no way out. You carry the place you grew up inside you your whole life, for good or bad. Vestli is the name of the suburban borough in the north-eastern part of Oslo where both Stian and I grew up. You can leave Vestli but Vestli never leaves you."

'Vestli' tracklist:

1. The New Year’s Resolution
2. When They Come For Me
3. Every Living Creature
4. Go!
5. Kano GM
6. There Is No Way Out
7. Goodbye
8. Me and My Friends
9. Brother of Mine
10. Get Lost
11. George McFly
12. You Can Be Yourself With Me


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Wed 24 Aug 2022
Spielbergs - Vestli (Album Review)
Wed 03 Aug 2022
Spielbergs Share New Single The New Year's Resolution
Mon 20 Jun 2022
Spielbergs Announce Autumn UK Tour, Share New Track Every Living Creature
< Prev   Next >