Home > News & Reviews > Danny Goffey

Supergrass' Danny Goffey Announces New Solo Album 'Bryan Moone's DiscoPunk', Shares First Single

Friday, 19 August 2022 Written by Jon Stickler

Danny Goffey from Supergrass has announced his third solo album.

'Bryan Moone's DiscoPunk' will arrive on October 21 via Distiller, accompanied by a self-penned, limited edition book about a day in the life of his fictional alter ego, Bryan Moone, with illustrations by Goffey's son Frank.

The record is introduced by a burst of punk energy in the form of the lead single Everybody's On Drugs, which is propelled by pounding drums and driving, staccato guitar. Goffey said:

"This song isn't all about street drugs. It’s more that these days, just about everybody’s on some kind of drug. Prescribed pharmaceuticals, over the counter pills, alcohol, gummies, vapes and vaccines... you name it, and all ages. So it can be hypocritical and judgemental to point a boney finger at the ‘illegal’ participants. We started the song with Liam (drums) playing some fast punky beats, then I added some choppy guitars and throbbing bass. I’m not quite sure what style I was going for on the vocals, sometimes it's just whatever comes out. This time, a deranged newsreader emerged."

The follow-up to Goffey's 2018 album 'Schtick' was recorded at the end of the first Coronavirus lockdown in 2020, and features contributions from his Supergrass bandmate Gaz Coombes, as well as Ed Harcourt and Louis Eliot. 

"Being made to stay at home indoors for three or four months was hard for everyone, so when we eventually managed to get into the studio to 'work', the shackles came off and we got hip deep into making the tunes come alive, and before too long, we pretty much had most of the album recorded, " added Goffey.

"There are a few songs on there that I guess were influenced by being locked up… All Dressed Up (With Nowhere to Go) is about you and your partner gradually slipping into a trippy world of madness in the house. Psychedelically connecting, crossdressing, playing the French horn and bongos, zooming around on high flying disks and eventually not really recognising yourself in the mirror… erm, etc etc. All the normal stuff."

Supergrass, meanwhile, will headline Birmingham's Moseley Folk and Arts Festival in September. Head here for further information.

'Bryan Moone's DiscoPunk' tracklist:

1. Everybody's On Drugs
2. Pressure
3. All Dressed Up
4. Discopunk
5. I Lost My Girl To A Fairground Worker
6. Dog Eats Dog
7. Looking After Number One
8. Back Into The Water
9. The Left Side
10. Flea Market Woman
11. The Marrakech Express


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >