Home > News & Reviews > Major League DJz

Major League DJz And Major Lazer Announce Joint Album 'Piano Republik'

Friday, 17 March 2023 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Joe Larkin

Major Lazer and Major League DJz have announced their joint album 'Piano Republik'.

The project falls under the genre of amapiano, a South African style of house music, and is scheduled to arrive on March 24 via Mad Decent / Because.

It marks the first full-length in three years from Major Lazer—the trio of Diplo, Walshy Fire and Ape Drums—and boasts contributions from Ty Dolla $ign and South African talents Tyla, LuuDaDeejay, Msaki, Gaba Cannal, Russell Zuma and Brenda Fassie.

Alongside the news, the two groups have shared the new single, Mamgobhozi, which features vocals from the late South African legend Brenda Fassie and a sample of her 1997 hit Vuli Ndlela. Major League DJz said:

"Brenda Fassie was not only an icon, but she inspired many black South Africans to be their authentic selves. Her energy was infectious on and off the stage. Her music catalogue brought joy to the many South Africans that filled stadiums to see her perform and is a true reflection of South African history. Vuli Ndlela is undoubtedly one of Brenda Fassie’s best bodies of work, holding the title of Song Of The Decade and a song we heard playing at every South African wedding and home then and now. It embodies the township sound of the late '90s, a true anthem as it celebrates a mother’s joy as her son gets married. Brenda Fassie knew how to narrate the African story, and her music catalogue speaks for her long after she has left us, a true force."

It follows the previously unveiled album cuts, Designer featuring Nigerian star Joeboy, and Koo Koo Fun with Afrobeats star Tiwa Savage and DJ Maphorisa, Major Lazer's first new music since 2021.

'Piano Republik' tracklist:

1. Smoking & Drinking (featuring Ty Dolla $ign)
2. Ke Shy (featuring Tyla & LuuDaDeejay)
3. Ngibambe (featuring Gaba Cannal & Russell Zuma)
4. Designer (featuring Joeboy)
5. Koo Koo Fun (featuring Tiwa Savage & DJ Maphorisa)
6. Mamgobhozi (featuring Brenda Fassie)
7. Oh Yeah (featuring Ty Dolla $ign)
8. Stop & Go (featuring Msaki)
9. Higher Ground (featuring Boniface)


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >