Home > News & Reviews > Romy

The xx's Romy Announces Debut Solo Album 'Mid Air', Shares New Song Loveher

Thursday, 08 June 2023 Written by Jon Stickler

The xx's Romy Madley Croft has announced her debut solo album.

'Mid Air' is due out on September 8 via Young, and will include the previously unveiled singles Enjoy Your Life and Strong, plus the new Fred Again..-produced track Loveher.

The latter is a pulsing electro-pop track that finds her feeling "new but also very honest" about publicly declaring her love for her partner using the feminine pronouns. Romy added: "Fred asked me, who could this be for? And I tentatively said… 'maybe me?'" She also wrote more about the record and the song on Instagram:

"The album title is inspired by the fleeting, weightless and euphoric moments I’ve had on a dance floor, connecting with people and processing emotions, before the beat drops and brings me back to reality.

"'Mid Air' is a collection of songs celebrating love, navigating loss and exploring identity. It’s musically inspired by dance music, it’s is a love letter to the queer clubs I first went to when I was growing up and people I met there and the music I heard that has made me feel more alive and less alone.

"I wanted to share track 1 with you today, Loveher is the first song I wrote that made me feel like I was ready to make a solo project, so it feels like a good place to start the album and to share now.

"Loveher is an attempt to distill some of the intimate, delicate moments of the early days of my relationship. Of shared moments of navigating visibility and celebrating pride in our own individual ways. It felt new but also very honest to sing the words I love her, just a true reflection of who I love.

"I can also recognise a fragility and growing of trust and friendship between @fredagainagainagainagainagain and I in this song. Fred and I met through songwriting for other artists, this was the first song we made together that I felt I had the confidence to say, I think this song is for me. Big love to you always Fred this song will always be a special one between us, so grateful for you."

Check out the accompanying video, directed by Vic Lentaigne, below. Romy has shows in Europe and the UK scheduled this summer, including slots at Glastonbury and All Points East.

'Mid Air' tracklist:

1. Loveher
2. Weightless
3. The Sea
4. One Last Try
5. DMC
6. Strong [ft. Fred Again..]
7. Twice
8. Did I
9. Mid Air [ft. Beverly Glenn-Copeland]
10. Enjoy Your Life
11. She’s on My Mind


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Tue 25 Jul 2023
The xx's Romy Releases New Single The Sea
Wed 12 Apr 2023
The XX's Romy Releases New Single Enjoy Your Life
Tue 15 Nov 2022
The XX's Romy Teams Up With Fred Again.. For New Track Strong
< Prev   Next >