Home > News & Reviews > Ian McKellen

Ian McKellen Announces 80th Birthday Theatre Tour

Monday, 12 November 2018 Written by Huw Baines

Ian McKellen has announced a marathon theatre tour for 2019.

The legendary actor will take in dates across the UK throughout the year, including multiple shows in London. In a statement, he said:

I’m celebrating my 80th birthday next year by touring a new solo show to UK theatres I know well and a few that I don’t. The show starts with Gandalf and will probably end with an invitation to act with me on stage. In-between there will be anecdotes and acting. I open at my local arts centre in January and end up by August in Orkney.

Live theatre has always been thrilling to me, as an actor and in the audience. Growing up in Lancashire, I was grateful to those companies who toured beyond London and I’ve always enjoyed repaying that debt by touring up and down the country myself, with the National Theatre, Royal Shakespeare Company, Prospect Theatre, the Actors’ Company, as well as with commercial productions. Sean Mathias, the director and I have worked together for stage and screen, many happy times.

Ian McKellen Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows:

Fri January 25 2019 - LONDON Space
Sat January 26 2019 - LONDON Space
Mon January 28 2019 - LONDON National Theatre Lyttelton
Wed January 30 2019 - LONDON Young Vic
Sun February 03 2019 - LONDON Bridge Theatre
Mon February 04 2019 - LONDON Richmond Theatre
Wed February 06 2019 - LONDON Above The Stag Theatre
Sun February 10 2019 - LONDON Hampstead Theatre
Mon February 11 2019 - LONDON Arts Theatre
Tue February 12 2019 - WINDSOR Theatre Royal
Wed February 13 2019 - WINDSOR Theatre Royal
Sun February 17 2019 - LONDON Old Vic
Tue February 19 2019 - BRISTOL Old Vic
Wed February 20 2019 - BRISTOL Old Vic
Thu February 21 2019 - LONDON Royal Court
Sun February 24 2019 - LONDON Queens Theatre
Mon February 25 2019 - LONDON Queens Theatre
Tue February 26 2019 - LONDON RADA
Fri March 01 2019 - LONDON Donmar Warehuse
Sun March 03 2019 - LONDON Lyric Hammersmith
Mon March 04 2019 - LONDON Questors Ealing
Thu March 07 2019 - LONDON Duke of Yorks Theatre
Fri March 08 2019 - IPSWICH New Wolsey
Sat March 09 2019 - IPSWICH New Wolsey
Sun March 10 2019 - LONDON Theatre Royal Stratford East
Wed March 13 2019 - SWANSEA Grand Theatre
Thu March 14 2019 - ABERYSTWYTH Arts Centre
Fri March 15 2019 - ABERYSTWYTH Arts Centre
Sat March 16 2019 - NEWTOWN Hafren
Mon March 18 2019 - MOLD Theatr Clwyd
Tue March 19 2019 - MOLD Theatr Clwyd
Sun March 24 2019 - BATH Theatre Royal Bath
Fri March 29 2019 - NORWICH Maddermarket Theatre
Sat March 30 2019 - NORWICH Maddermarket Theatre
Tue April 02 2019 - FOLKSTONE Leas Cliff Hall
Fri April 05 2019 - CHICHESTER Minerva Theatre
Fri April 12 2019 - BURY ST EDMUNDS Theatre Royal
Sat April 13 2019 - BURY ST EDMUNDS Theatre Royal
Sun April 14 2019 - NORTHAMPTON Royal and Derngate
Wed April 17 2019 - COLCHESTER Mercury
Thu April 18 2019 - COLCHESTER Mercury
Sat April 20 2019 - COVENTRY Belgrade Theatre
Wed April 24 2019 - NORWICH Playhouse
Thu April 25 2019 - NORWICH Playhouse
Sat April 27 2019 - KINGS LYNN St Georges Guildhall
Sun April 28 2019 - KINGS LYNN St Georges Guildhall
Tue April 30 2019 - OXFORD Playhouse
Wed May 01 2019 - OXFORD Playhouse
Fri May 03 2019 - JERSEY Opera House
Sat May 04 2019 - JERSEY Opera House
Mon May 06 2019 - AYLESBURY Waterside Theatre
Tue May 07 2019 - CHELTENHAM Everyman Theatre
Wed May 08 2019 - CHELTENHAM Everyman Theatre
Fri May 10 2019 - CAMBRIDGE Arts Theatre
Sat May 11 2019 - CAMBRIDGE Arts Theatre
Mon May 13 2019 - WIGAN Little Theatre
Tue May 14 2019 - WIGAN Little Theatre
Wed May 15 2019 - STOCKPORT Forum Theatre Romiley
Fri May 17 2019 - LIVERPOOL Playhouse
Sat May 18 2019 - LIVERPOOL Playhouse
Sun May 19 2019 - COVENTRY Warwick Arts Centre
Mon May 20 2019 - BLACKPOOL Grand
Sat May 25 2019 - BOLTON Albert Halls Theatre
Tue May 28 2019 - LANCASTER Dukes
Fri May 31 2019 - BUXTON Opera House
Sat June 01 2019 - LEICESTER Curve Theatre
Sun June 02 2019 - LEICESTER Curve Theatre
Mon June 03 2019 - SHEFFIELD Crucible
Tue June 04 2019 - WAKEFIELD Theatre Royal
Wed June 05 2019 - MANCHESTER HOME
Thu June 06 2019 - MANCHESTER HOME
Sun June 09 2019 - STOCKTON ON TEES Forum Tehatre Billingham
Tue June 11 2019 - BARNSLEY Civic
Wed June 12 2019 - DONCASTER Cast
Fri June 14 2019 - RICHMOND Georgian Theatre Royal
Sun June 16 2019 - HULL New Theatre
Mon June 17 2019 - YORK Grand Opera House
Fri June 21 2019 - BIRMINGHAM Rep
Sat June 22 2019 - BIRMINGHAM Rep
Tue June 25 2019 - NOTTINGHAM Playhouse
Wed June 26 2019 - NOTTINGHAM Playhouse
Thu June 27 2019 - CARDIFF New Theatre
Fri June 28 2019 - CARDIFF New Theatre
Mon July 01 2019 - EXETER Northcott Theatre
Tue July 02 2019 - POOLE Lighthouse
Wed July 03 2019 - LYME REGIS Marine Theatre
Fri July 05 2019 - NEWCURY Watermill Theatre
Tue July 09 2019 - TORQUAY Princess Theatre
Mon July 15 2019 - BRIGHTON Theatre Royal
Tue July 16 2019 - BRIGHTON Theatre Royal
Wed July 17 2019 - BRIGHTON Theatre Royal
Thu July 18 2019 - BRIGHTON Theatre Royal
Sun July 21 2019 - STRATFORD UPON AVON Swan Theatre
Thu July 25 2019 - BELFAST Lyric
Fri July 26 2019 - BELFAST Lyric
Sat July 27 2019 - DERRY Waterside Theatre
Mon July 29 2019 - BALLYMENA Braid Arts Cente
Wed July 31 2019 - NEWTONABBEY Theatre At The Mill
Thu August 01 2019 - NEWTONABBEY Theatre At The Mill
Fri August 09 2019 - DUNDEE Rep Theatre

Click here to compare & buy Ian McKellen Tickets at Stereoboard.com.





Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

No related news to show
 
< Prev   Next >