Home > News & Reviews > Meltdown

Thundercat, SOPHIE, Songhoy Blues Among First Acts Announced for Nile Rodgers' Meltdown Festival

Thursday, 09 May 2019 Written by Laura Johnson

The first acts have been announced for Nile Rodgers' Meltdown Festival.

The event will once again take over London's Southbank Centre, with Rodgers' involvement following Robert Smith's 2018 edition and past efforts from M.I.A., Patti Smith, Nick Cave, Yoko Ono, David Byrne, Massive Attack and Ornette Coleman. 

Head below for the latest line up announcements.

What? A multi-day music festival that each year is curated by a different artist.

Where? Southbank Centre, London.

When? August 3 - 11.

Who? The first acts to be announced are Eurythmics Songbook, Despacio, Anitta, Thundercat, Songhoy Blues, Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein performing Stranger Things, Alfa Mist, Durand Jones and the Indications, Kokoroko, A Night of Studio 54, and of course Rodgers will perform with CHIC. He said:

"My prime motivation is to present incredible music from all walks of life that will make everybody dance. From CHIC to KOKOROKO and our special Studio 54 night to Eurythmics Songbook, Songhoy Blues, Despacio and the full incredible lineup, we are going to dance, dance, dance."

Tickets? Tickets go on general sale at 10am on May 14. Head here for further details.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Nile Rodgers To Curate This Year's Meltdown Festival
Tue 12 Feb 2019
Nile Rodgers will curate this year's Meltdown Festival.
Death Cab For Cutie And Frightened Rabbit Among New Acts Announced For Robert Smith's Meltdown
Tue 10 Apr 2018
Death Cab For Cutie and Frightened Rabbit are among the latest acts to be announced for Robert Smith's Meltdown Festival.
Deftones And Nine Inch Nails Among First Acts Announced For Robert Smith's Meltdown
Tue 06 Mar 2018
Deftones, Nine Inch Nails and My Bloody Valentine are among the first acts to be confirmed for Robert Smith's Meltdown Festival.
Queen Machine Symphonic Featuring Kerry Ellis To Tour The UK In 2020
Mon 15 Apr 2019
Queen Machine Symphonic will head to UK venues in spring 2020.
Tacocat Share New Single The Joke Of Life
Wed 17 Apr 2019
Tacocat have released a new single.
The Shires, Alabama3, Magic Numbers Join Black Deer Festival Line Up
Fri 10 May 2019
The Shires, Alabama3, and Magic Numbers have joined the bill for Black Deer Festival.
Let The Journey Be The Experience: Rob Thomas Discusses The Remarkable Ride To 'Chip Tooth Smile'
Tue 23 Apr 2019
Photo: Randall Slavin Calling Rob Thomas the modern day embodiment of the American dream is, admittedly, overly saccharine, a little old fashioned and not necessarily congruent with the undercurrent of emotional angst that’s always fuelled much of his music. Yet he’s certainly travelled a great distance to where he finds himself today, having risen from an extremely dysfunctional background to earn a reputation as one of the finest songwriters of his generation.
Harsh Truth: Employed to Serve Voice the Millennial Condition on 'Eternal Forward Motion'
Thu 02 May 2019
“In 2017, 5,821 suicides were registered in the UK. This makes it the second-leading cause of death among 15-to-29-year-olds.”
< Prev   Next >