Home > News & Reviews > Gomez

Gomez To Reissue 'Liquid Skin' In July, Share Unreleased Track Throwin' Myself Away

Tuesday, 21 May 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Scarlet Page

Gomez will reissue 'Liquid Skin' this summer.

Originally released in September 1999, the group's second album will get the deluxe treatment, coming out on July 12 via Virgin/UMC.

Remastered from the original tapes by Abbey Road's Frank Arkwright, the reissue will arrive digitally and as a special double LP and double CD, with the latter set to feature 19 unreleased tracks, including five unheard demos, four previously unreleased alternate versions and nine live tracks recorded at the Fillmore in San Francisco in 2000. Head below to view the tracklist and listen to Throwin' Myself Away.

'Liquid Skin' followed hot on the heels of the band's 1998 debut, 'Bring It On'. Singer, guitarist and vocalist Ben Ottowell said:

"The first album and this one merge into one in a lot of ways. A lot of the tracks were written at the same time.

"There's a song called Bring It On on 'Liquid Skin', which says it all really. They were made very closely together, so it seemed like part of the same process. We were constantly making records."

Drummer Olly Peakcock added:

“'Liquid Skin' was the step from the four track and recording in a garage to us accepting – in the most ridiculous way – that we were now doing music professionally. ‘Oh shit we somehow got our record deal, we are a band and we go to the studio now. We’re not going to be hacking it all together.’ There was an excitement because there were less limitations.” 

In support of the release, Gomez will perform special headline dates and festival performances this July, including stops at LatitudeKendall Calling and London's O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire. 

'Liquid Skin' (remastered) tracklist:

CD 1
1. Hangover
2. Revolutionary Kind
3. Bring It On
4. Blue Moon Rising
5. Las Vegas Dealer
6. We Haven't Turned Around
7. Fill My Cup
8. Rhythm & Blues Alibi
9. Rosalita
10. California
11. Devil Will Ride
12. Throwin' Myself Away (previously unreleased demo)
13. Nobody’s Girl (previously unreleased demo)
14. Someday (previously unreleased demo)
15. Brother Lead (previously unreleased demo)
16. Summer (previously unreleased demo)

CD 2
1. High On Liquid Skin (previously unreleased alternate version)
2. We Haven’t Turned Around (previously unreleased alternate version)
3. Rosalita (previously unreleased alternate version)
4. Las Vegas Dealer (previously unreleased alternate version)
5. Hangover (live at the Fillmore, San Francisco, 2000)
6. Blue Moon Rising (live at the Fillmore, San Francisco, 2000)
7. Rhythm & Blues Alibi (live at the Fillmore, San Francisco, 2000)
8. Rosemary (live at the Fillmore, San Francisco, 2000)
9. Do's & Don'ts (live at the Fillmore, San Francisco, 2000)
10. Las Vegas Dealer (live at the Fillmore, San Francisco, 2000)
11. We Haven't Turned Around (live at the Fillmore, San Francisco, 2000)
12. Devil Will Ride (live at the Fillmore, San Francisco, 2000)
13. Bring It On (live at the Fillmore, San Francisco, 2000)
14. Gomez In A Bucket (live at the Fillmore, San Francisco, 2000)

Gomez Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Thu July 18 2019 - BEXHILL ON SEA De La Warr Pavilion
Sun July 21 2019 - LONDON O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire
Tue July 23 2019 - SHEFFIELD Leadmill
Wed July 24 2019 - GLASGOW O2 Academy Glasgow
Fri July 26 2019 - MANCHESTER O2 Ritz

Click here to compare & buy Gomez Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Gomez To Celebrate Reissue Of 'Liquid Skin' With Summer UK Shows
Mon 25 Feb 2019
Gomez have lined up summer UK shows.
Gomez Add Oxford Date To Summer Tour
Mon 21 May 2018
Gomez have added an Oxford stop to their 'Bring It On' 20th anniversary tour.
Gomez Announce Summer UK Tour
Wed 09 May 2018
Gomez will tour the UK this summer.
The 1975 Team Up With Climate Change Activist Greta Thunberg For Poignant New Track
Thu 25 Jul 2019
The 1975 have teamed up with Greta Thunberg, a teenage climate change activist, for their latest track.
Friendly Fires Share New Single Run The Wild Flowers
Fri 26 Jul 2019
Photo: Dan Wilton Friendly Fires have dropped a new single.
Angel Olsen Announces New Album 'All Mirrors', Shares Video For Title Track
Tue 30 Jul 2019
Photo: Cameron McCool A new Angel Olsen album will arrive this autumn.
Public Service Broadcasting To Perform 'The Race For Space' At Wakefield Festival Of The Moon
Wed 24 Jul 2019
Public Service Broadcasting will take 'The Race For Space' to Wakefield.
Royal Blood Add Bexhill On Sea Date To Summer Tour
Fri 26 Jul 2019
Photo: Joeseth Carter Royal Blood have added a Bexhill On Sea date to their summer UK tour.
< Prev   Next >