Home > News & Reviews > Kele Okereke

Bloc Party's Kele Okereke Announces New Solo Album '2042', Shares First Track Jungle Bunny

Wednesday, 04 September 2019 Written by Helen Payne

Kele Okereke has announced a new album.

‘2042’, the Bloc Party frontman’s fourth solo LP, will get a release on November 8 via his own KOLA label. Discussing the follow up to 2017’s ‘Fatherland’, Okereke said:

“There is a history of black entertainers feeling that after they have achieved a certain level of success that they are above discussions of race but that idea is a delusion. As a person of colour living in the western world, it does not matter how much wealth one accumulates, race will follow you wherever you go. With Jungle Bunny I wanted explore this idea: In a time of such rampant division and public racism, what is the responsibility of the black entertainer?”

Jungle Bunny, the record’s opener, utilises catchy guitar lines throughout and an addictive melody in the chorus to criticise casual racism in the 21st century. Check it out below, along with the album's tracklist.

'2024' tracklist:

  1. Jungle Bunny
  2. Past Lives Interlude
  3. Let England Burn
  4. St Kaepernick Wept
  5. Guava Rubicon
  6. My Business
  7. Ceiling Games
  8. Where She Came From Interlude
  9. Between Me and My Maker
  10. Natural Hair
  11. Cyril's Blood
  12. Secrets West 29th
  13. Catching Feelings
  14. A Day of National Shame Interlude
  15. Ocean View
  16. Back Burner

Okereke will spend September and November with Bloc Party on the Silent Alarm Tour in North America.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Wed 22 Jan 2020
Kele Okereke Reschedules February UK Tour To Spring
Tue 19 Nov 2019
Kele - 2042 (Album Review)
Fri 08 Nov 2019
Kele Okereke Plots February UK Tour
Wed 02 Oct 2019
Kele Okereke Releases New Single Between Me And My Maker
< Prev   Next >