Home > News & Reviews > Sports Team

Sports Team Set Spring Release For Debut Album 'Deep Down Happy', Share New Single Here's The Thing

Tuesday, 18 February 2020 Written by Jon Stickler

Sports Team have announced their debut album.

'Deep Down Happy', which follows the Camberwell-based band's 'Winter Nets' and 'Keep Walking!' EPs, is due out on April 3 via their new label home Island Records.  

Alongside the announcement of the record, the six-piece have shared the artwork, tracklist and a jaunty new single, Here's The Thing, which comes with a video viewable below. Speaking about the record, frontman Alex Rice said: 

"I don’t think we were conscious of doing it but the album maps the journey of moving in together in Harlesden, moving back to home towns to sleep on floors for 18 months, then coming back to London, weighing up whether being in a band with your mates, being young in London is still the best thing in the world. I think it probably is."

Sports Team will kick off their world tour with a set at the BBC 6 Music Festival on March 6 before heading to North America. They return to the UK and Europe in the summer, with festival appearances lined up at Bearded Theory’s Spring Gathering, Neighbourhood Weekender, TRSNMT, Truck Festival and Boardmasters.

'Deep Down Happy' tracklist:

1. Lander
2. Here It Comes Again
3. Going Soft
4. Camel Crew
5. Long Hot Summer
6. Feels Like Fun
7. Here’s The Thing
8. The Races
9. Born Sugar
10. Fishing
11. Kutcher
12. Stations Of The Cross

UPDATE 20/03: Due to the ongoing coronavirus, Sports Team have rescheduled the release of their album to June 19 and their UK tour for the same month.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Fri 19 Jun 2020
Sports Team Line Up Spring 2021 UK and Ireland Tour
Tue 09 Jun 2020
Sports Team - Deep Down Happy (Album Review)
Thu 21 Nov 2019
Sports Team Share New Single The Races Amid UK Tour
< Prev   Next >