Home > News & Reviews > Matt Berninger

Matt Berninger Announces Debut Solo Album, Shares Title Track

Wednesday, 20 May 2020 Written by Sophie Williams

Photo: Chris Sgroi

The National’s Matt Berninger has confirmed details of his debut solo LP.

Produced by the MG’s Booker T. Jones, ‘Serpentine Prison’ is scheduled to arrive on October 2 via Book Records. The album is set to feature collaborative tracks with Gail Ann Dorsey, Matt Barrick and Andrew Bird, Mike Brewer, Hayden Desser, and Scott Devendorf of the National, among others.

The news arrives with the release of the sweeping, soft rock title track and its accompanying video, which documents Berninger recording the single. Check it out below, alongside the album's artwork. He said:

“The song Serpentine Prison was written in December 2018, about a week after recording The National’s ‘I Am Easy to Find’. “For a long time, I had been writing songs for movies and musicals and other projects where I needed to get inside someone else’s head and convey another person’s feelings. I liked doing that, but I was ready to dig back into my own garbage and this was the first thing that came out.

“The title is from a twisting sewer pipe that drains into the ocean near LAX. There’s a cage on the pipe to keep people from climbing out to sea. I worked on the song with Sean O’Brien and Harrison Whitford and recorded it about six months later with Booker T. Jones producing. It feels like an epilogue, so I named the record after it and put it last.”

Elsewhere, the National recently postponed the entirety of their summer touring schedule, which included two intimate shows at London's O2 Academy Brixton. New dates yet to be announced. Keep up to date in real time with new information via Stereoboard.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Fri 18 Oct 2019
The National's Matt Berninger Announces Solo Album 'Serpentine Prison'
< Prev   Next >