Home > News & Reviews > Tomahawk

Mike Patton's Tomahawk Announce New Album 'Tonic Immobility', Share Lead Single Business Casual

Thursday, 21 January 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Tomahawk have shared details of their first album in eight years, 'Tonic Immobility'.

The follow-up to 2013's 'Oddfellows' was co-produced by the art-rock band with Paul Allen and will arrive on March 26 through frontman Mike Patton's Ipecac Recordings.

To celebrate the news, the four-piece — Patton (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle), Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle, Fantômas), Duane Denison (the Jesus Lizard, Unsemble) and John Stanier (Helmet, Battles) — have shared the record's raging first single Business Casual, streaming below alongside the artwork and tracklist. Guitarist Denison said:

"Tonic Immobility could just be something in the air we’re feeling. It’s been a rough year between the pandemic and everything else.

"A lot of people feel somewhat powerless and stuck as they’re not able to make a move without second guessing themselves or worrying about the outcomes. For as much as the record possibly reflects that, it’s also an escape from the realities of the world. We’re not wallowing in negativity or getting political.

"For me, rock has always been an alternate reality to everything else. I feel like this is yet another example."

Denison described the new guitar-charged track, their first since the 2014 single M.E.A.T, as "a mocking look at the life of work in America."

'Tonic Immobility' tracklist:

1. SHHH!
2. Valentine Shine
3. Predators and Scavengers
4. Doomsday Fatigue
5. Business Casual
6. Tattoo Zero
7. Fatback
8. Howlie
9. Eureka
10. Sidewinder
11. Recoil
12. Dog Eat Dog

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >