Home > News & Reviews > Sarah Neufeld

Arcade Fire's Sarah Neufeld Sets May Release For New Solo Album 'Detritus'

Thursday, 11 February 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Sarah Neufeld, known for her work with Arcade Fire, has shared details of her first solo album in five years.

'Detritus' will arrive on May 14 via Paper Bag/One Little Independent Records and feature the newly shared opening track, Stories, a contemplative arrangement showcasing the violinist and composer's haunting vocals over a blend of strings and celestial synths.

Neufeld — who is also a member of Bell Orchestre — worked with Arcade Fire bandmate Jeremy Gara, Bell Orchestre bandmate Pietro Amato and Stuart Bogie on what will be her third solo LP, and the follow-up to 2016's 'The Ridge'. It was completed weeks before the COVID-19 pandemic hit. She said:

"I was inspired by both a sense of interior aloneness, and a sense of deep intimacy. Within both, a profound questioning of identity and intention, and ultimately, a grieving over one’s former sense of self. The stories we’ve told ourselves that we can no longer believe. Nestled within deep layers of comfort, familiarity, and solace, I’m able to repeat myself again and again, never learning, never looking back. Simultaneously becoming wiser and more ignorant as the years wind on, beauty and grace exist even here, in this rift."

'Detritus' tracklist:

1. Stories
2. Unreflected
3. With Love And Blindess
4. The Top
5. Tumble Down The Undecided
6. Shed Your Dear Heart
7. Detritus


Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >