Home > News & Reviews > Atreyu

Atreyu Detail Eighth Album 'Baptize', Share New Songs Warrior Featuring Travis Barker And Underrated

Thursday, 04 March 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Atreyu have announced their eighth studio album.

'Baptize' will arrive on June 4 via Spinefarm Records and include two newly shared tracks, Underrated and Warrior featuring Blink-182 drummer Travis Barker.

The songs find the metalcore band tackling the issues of self-confidence and endurance. They go hard on guitar riffs and crushing breakdowns, though sound more accessible than their heavier 2020 single Save Us, the first music from them since the departure of vocalist Alex Varkatzas in September, who has since been replaced by Brandon Saller. The band said:

"Warrior is song about persistence and never giving up. We hope this song can be the puzzle piece that helps people realize that we ALL have the capacity for greatness. Sometimes, greatness can exist in the shadows and lives buried under negativity, trauma, or anxiety. 'Warrior' is about searching through all of that endless darkness to finally find the sunrise.

"When we wrote Warrior, the idea to do a big marching drum break came about. We wanted it to feel like a hometown football game. Travis Barker was the perfect person to bring this to life. It's cool to have him be a part of the song and to perform in a different light than what people may be used to."

Discussing Underrated, they added: "We've always had to prove ourselves. We've never been handed anything nor have we taken any shortcuts. It's never been 'the easy way.' Over two decades later, we're still making our mark."

'Baptize' tracklist:

1. Strange Powers of Prophecy
2. Baptize
3. Save Us
4. Underrated
5. Broken Again
6. Weed
7. Dead Weight
8. Catastrophe
9. Fucked Up
10. Sabotage Me
11. Untouchable featuring Jacoby Shaddix of Papa Roach
12. No Matter What
13. Oblivion featuring Matt Heafy of Trivium
14. Stay
15. Warrior featuring Travis Barker

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Tue 16 Mar 2021
Atreyu Post Video For Warrior
< Prev   Next >