Home > News & Reviews > Gruff Rhys

Gruff Rhys Sets May Release For New LP 'Seeking New Gods', Shares First Single Loan Your Loneliness

Monday, 15 March 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Gruff Rhys has unveiled details of his seventh solo album.

'Seeking New Gods' will arrive on May 21 via Rough Trade Records and feature the newly shared first single Loan Your Loneliness, a catchy offering that rolls out over a piano-based melody. Head below for its accompanying video, directed by Mark James.

The Super Furry Animals vocalist recorded the follow-up to 2019's 'Pang!' following a US tour with his band. Mario C, best known for his work with Beastie Boys, mixed the album in Los Angeles. 

According to Rhys, the record started off as a biography of an active volcano, Mount Paektu, on the Chinese-North Korean border:

"It started out as the biography of an east Asian mountain - Mount Paektu, but eventually the album became more personal. I think it's about memory and time. It's still a biography of a mountain, but now it’s a Mount Paektu of the mind."

'Seeking New Gods' tracklist: 

1. Mausoleum of My Former Self
2. Can't Carry On
3. Loan Your Loneliness
4. Seeking New Gods
5. Hiking In Lightning
6. Holiest of the Holy Men
7. The Keep
8. Everlasting Joy
9. Distant Snowy Peaks

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Wed 27 Oct 2021
Gruff Rhys, The Anchoress, Afro Cluster Among Names On Welsh Music Prize Shortlist
Wed 21 Apr 2021
Gruff Rhys Shares New Song Can't Carry On
< Prev   Next >