Home > News & Reviews > The White Stripes

Third Man Records To Release 20th Anniversary Edition Of The White Stripes' 'White Blood Cells'

Wednesday, 07 April 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Third Man Records have revealed details of a 20th anniversary edition of the White Stripes' 2001 album 'White Blood Cells'.

The 'White Blood Cells XX' package will arrive as part of the Jack White label's vault subscription series and feature two vinyl: a red LP with 13 previously unreleased tracks and a white LP of an unheard live recording from a 2001 gig in Louisville, Kentucky.

There's also a DVD of candid footage of the making of 'White Blood Cells' in Memphis, as well as a colour booklet, posters, flyers, and unseen photographs, plus more.

Fans will need to sign up on the Third Man Records website by April 30 to receive it. As a teaser, head below to check out a behind the scenes clip from the 'White Blood Cells' recording session, as well as an alternative version of Fell In Love With A Girl.

The blues-rock duo, comprising Jack and Meg White, announced their split in 2011, four years after the release of their sixth and final studio album 'Icky Thump'. Jack has since put out three solo LPs, 2012's 'Blunderbuss', 2014's 'Lazaretto' and 2018's 'Boarding House Reach', as well as collaborations with The Dead Weather and The Raconteurs.

Third Man Records dropped 'The White Stripes Greatest Hits' in December 2020. 

'White Blood Cells XX' tracklist:

Disc One:

Side A:
1. Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground (previously unreleased boombox demo take 1)
2. Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground (previously unreleased boombox demo take 2)
3. Hotel Yorba (previously unreleased alternate take live at the Hotel Yorba)
4. Fell In Love With a Girl (previously unreleased alternate take)
5. The Union Forever (previously unreleased working mix without interlude)
6. Offend In Every Way (previously unreleased acoustic boombox demo)
7. That’s Where It’s At (previously unreleased outtake)

Side B:
8. Ooh-Aah (previously unreleased demo)
9. I Can’t Wait (previously unreleased alternate mix)
10. Hey Mary (previously unreleased demo)
11. Feel Like I’m Three Feet Tall (previously unreleased boombox demo)
12. Rated X (previously unreleased alternate take live at the Hotel Yorba)
13. This Protector (previously unreleased alternate take)

Disc Two (Live at Headliners, Louisville, Kentucky, September 6, 2001)

Side C:
1. When I Hear My Name
2. Death Letter / Grinnin’ In Your Face
3. Lord, Send Me An Angel
4. You’re Pretty Good Looking (For A Girl)
5. Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground
6. Hotel Yorba
7. Truth Doesn’t Make A Noise
8. I Think I Smell A Rat

Side D:
1. Jolene
2. We’re Going To Be Friends
3. Expecting
4. The Union Forever
5. The Same Boy You’ve Always Known
6. Apple Blossom
7. Cannon / John The Revelator
8. Astro
9. Boll Weevil


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >