Home > News & Reviews > Prince

Lost Prince Album 'Welcome 2 America' To Be Released In July, Title Track Shared

Friday, 09 April 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

A lost Prince album will be released this summer.

The late funk icon's estate has announced that 'Welcome 2 America' will arrive on July 30 via the Sony label Legacy Recordings. Recorded in 2010 before the Welcome 2 America Tour, it'll feature a cover of Soul Asylum's Stand Up and B Strong plus 11 unreleased Prince originals— some of which were only ever performed live by the star or featured on webcasts or radio.

The record features some of the late artist's only studio collaborations with bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, drummer CrC and GRAMMY-nominated engineer Jason Agel, as well as vocals by NPG singers Shelby J., Liv Warfield, and Elisa Fiorillo Dease, and co-production by Morris Hayes.

As a preview, head below to stream the five-and-a-half minute title track, a spacey, soulful offering with spoken word lyrics that hit out at social media, celebrity culture, and more. A statement posted to Prince's official Facebook page confirmed the deluxe edition includes a full 2011 concert at The Forum on Blu-ray.

"The world is fraught with misin4mation. George Orwell's vision of the future is here. We need 2 remain steadfast in faith in the trying times ahead," Prince said in a 2010 statement released by the estate.

'Welcome 2 America' tracklist:

1. Welcome 2 America
2. Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)
3. Born 2 Die
4. 1000 Light Years from Here
5. Hot Summer
6. Stand Up and B Strong (Soul Asylum cover)
7. Check the Record
8. Same Page, Different Book
9. When She Comes
10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
11. Yes
12. One Day We Will All B Free

'Welcome 2 America' (Live at The Forum, April 28, 2011) Blu-ray tracklist:

1. Joy in Repetition
2. Brown Skin (India.Arie cover)
3. 17 Days
4. Shhh
5. Controversy
6. Theme from “Which Way Is Up” (Stargard cover)
7. What Have You Done For Me Lately (Janet Jackson cover)
8. Partyman
9. Make You Feel My Love (Bob Dylan cover)
10. Misty Blue (Eddy Arnold cover)
11. Let’s Go Crazy
12. Delirious
13. 1999
14. Little Red Corvette
15. Purple Rain
16. The Bird (The Time cover – Prince composition)
17. Jungle Love (The Time cover – Prince composition)
18. A Love Bizarre (Sheila E. cover – Prince composition)
19. Kiss
20. Play That Funky Music (Wild Cherry cover)
21. Inglewood Swinging (cover of Kool & the Gang’s “Hollywood Swinging”)
22. Fantastic Voyage (Lakeside cover)
23. More Than This (Roxy Music cover)

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Thu 05 Aug 2021
Prince - Welcome 2 America (Album Review)
Fri 23 Jul 2021
Unearthed Prince Song Hot Summer Shared From Lost Album 'Welcome 2 America'
Thu 03 Jun 2021
Posthumous Prince Song Born 2 Die Released
< Prev   Next >