Home > News & Reviews > Liars

Liars Set August Release For New Album 'The Apple Drop', Share First Single Sekwar

Thursday, 06 May 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Clemens Habicht

Liars are back with details of a new album.

'The Apple Drop' will arrive on August 6 via Mute Records and feature the newly shared single Sekwar, an ominous electronic-rock fusion built on pulsating synths and off-kilter melodies. It comes paired with a cinematic video directed by Clemens Habicht.

The record marks the first new music from the project of founding vocalist Angus Andrew since 2017's 'TFCF' and 2018's 'Titles With The Word Fountain'. It finds him working alongside jazz drummer Laurence Pike, multi-instrumentalist Cameron Deyell, and lyricist Mary Pearson Andrew. He said:

"For the first time I embraced collaboration from an early stage, allowing the work of others to influence the work of my own."

"Momentum and revolution were themes I wanted to explore, to give the listener this sense of transformation and to feel like you were being transported through the wormhole," he explained.

"Throughout Liars' history I have consistently tried to develop new methods of creating music. On each project I’ve essentially abandoned previous methods and attempted to instead learn different ways of writing and producing songs. Where once I perceived this journey as a straight line, I’m increasingly realising my trajectory is more akin to a spiral. As new ideas are generated, older ones take on new meaning and evolve further."

Head below to view the record's artwork and tracklist.

'The Apple Drop' tracklist:

1. The Start
2. Slow and Turn Inward
3. Sekwar
4. Big Appetite
5. From What the Never Was
6. Star Search
7. My Pulse to Ponder
8. Leisure War
9. King of the Crooks
10. Acid Crop
11. New Planets New Undoings

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Wed 16 Jun 2021
Liars Release New Track Big Appetite
< Prev   Next >