Home > News & Reviews > Caleb Landry Jones

Caleb Landry Jones Announces New Album 'Gadzooks Vol 1.', Drops First Single Bogie

Thursday, 22 July 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Jade Mainade

Caleb Landry Jones has announced his new album, 'Gadzooks Vol. 1'.

The follow-up to the actor and musician's 2020 debut, 'The Mother Stone', is due out on September 24 through Sacred Bones.

Penned in Albuquerque, New Mexico while filming with Tom Hanks for the upcoming film Finch, the nine-track record is heralded by lead single Bogie, a woozy slice of psych-rock. He said:

"The perspectives from which I write, jump erratically and can turn on a dime. Others grow and burn, only to sometimes vanish on the spot, just before the hat drops... My intention is to not rob the listener of their own fantasies by describing the annals of purpose which in turn, only unearth a fragile magic. I am interested only in the album's response by its audience. The album is there to be digested, not by the front of your brain, but by the back. It is for the lover of labyrinths and quagmires."

Expanding on his writing method, he added: "I stole from what was around me, what fell out of the television, what passed below my windows, relationships, old and new. My frustrations, desires, daydreams and fears scattered themselves throughout my writing. It is a direct response to the album before it. I felt whatever I wrote next needed to be more consistent. I knew that I wanted to put everything down on tape. I wanted the same players as before but to go further." 

Reuniting with the same personnel who helped create its predecessor, including producer Nic Jodoin, Landry Jones tracked the record to tape over 18-hour days at Valentine Recording Studio in Los Angeles. He added: "It's like when you're swimming in the pool and you're doing a bit of butterfly, and then that gets old after a while. So then you start doing breaststroke, and then that gets old after a while. I think it's just a reaction from the place where we were before."

'Gadzooks Vol. 1' tracklist:

1. Never Wet
2. Yesterday Will Come
3. The Loon
4. Bogie
5. Gloria
6. California
7. For A Short Time
8. A Slice of Dream
9. This Won’t Come Back

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >