Home > News & Reviews > Cradle Of Filth

Cradle Of Filth Announce 13th Studio LP 'Existence Is Futile', Share New Track Crawling King Chaos

Friday, 30 July 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Cradle Of Filth have unveiled details of their 13th studio album.

Recorded in isolation during the COVID-19 lockdown periods of 2020, 'Existence Is Futile' will arrive on October 22 via Nuclear Blast.

Brought to life at Grindstone Studios in Suffolk with producer and engineer Scott Atkins, the record reunites the extreme metal icons with horror legend Doug Bradley, best known for his role as Pinhead in the Hellraiser films.

The screen icon lends "his dulcet tones" to cut Suffer Our Dominion and bonus track Sisters of the Mist — the conclusion to the Her Ghost In The Fog trilogy that started over 20 years ago with the band's 2000 album 'Midian'." Frontman Dani Filth said:

"The album is about existentialism, existential dread and fear of the unknown. The concept wasn’t created by the pandemic. We'd written it long before that began, but the pandemic is the tip of the cotton-bud as far as the way the world is headed, you know? I guess the title, 'Existence Is Futile', does sound a little morbid. But again, it’s more about recognizing that truth and saying that everything is permitted because nothing really matters, which mimics the occultist Aleister Crowley’s maxim. We all know we're going to die, so we might as well indulge life while we possess it. The final track on the album – Us, Dark, Invincible – really drives that point home. Also, the artwork for this record was created by the Latvian visionary Arthur Berzinsh, who also dressed the last two albums, and that reeks of the exceedingly beautiful yet apocalyptic too."

As a preview, the band have shared the fiendish first single Crawling King Chaos, a typically brutal offering of gothic black metal which comes with a video directed by Vicente Cordero.

Cradle Of Filth have replaced Dimmu Borgir on the bill for Bloodstock 2021, which takes place at Catton Park, Derbyshire in August.

'Existence Is Futile' tracklist:

1. The Fate Of The World On Our Shoulders
2. Existential Terror
3. Necromantic Fantasies
4. Crawling King Chaos
5. Here Comes A Candle… (Infernal Lullaby)
6. Black Smoke Curling From The Lips Of War
7. Discourse Between A Man And His Soul
8. The Dying Of The Embers
9. Ashen Mortality
10. How Many Tears To Nurture A Rose?
11. Suffer Our Dominion
12. Us, Dark, Invincible
13. Sisters Of The Mist (Bonus track)
14. Unleash The Hellion (Bonus track)

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Mon 16 Aug 2021
Cradle Of Filth Confirm 'Existence Is Futile' Halloween Album Release Show At London's Roundhouse
Wed 03 Feb 2021
Cradle Of Filth Share Details Of New Album 'Existence Is Futile'
< Prev   Next >