Home > News & Reviews > Dream Nails

Dream Nails Drop New Single Take Up Space

Wednesday, 04 August 2021 Written by Sophie Pengelly

Photo credit: Derek Bremner

Dream Nails have released their new single, Take Up Space, with a high energy, VHS-style music video accompanying it.

Acting as a suitably and unapologetically in-your-face introduction to new singer Leah Kirby, the London-based DIY punk outfit intend for the track to be a voice for women and the queer community. Kirby said:

“This is a bop which acknowledges the injustice with cis male dominated spaces. It’s an anthem for those who are negatively impacted by patriarchal oppression. It’s a call for us to reclaim our bodies and take ownership of ourselves. We want to live without fear, we want to live freely, we want to take up space!”

The message of the song is a poignant one worldwide, particularly in the band's home country, after peaceful protests in 2020 and 2021 were met with aggression from authority and from anti-feminist online trolls. Guitarist Anya Pearson explained: 

“There is an epidemic of male violence on our streets and women and LGBT+ people are expected to police what we wear, where we go and what we do in order to ‘stay safe‘. Ironically, when we protest about these issues, we are then subject to oppressive policing!”

The track is the first release (aside from a punky Christmas banger) since their self-titled debut album arrived in 2020. Produced by Spring King's Tarek Musa, Dream Nails' instantly recognisable cymbal-heavy rhythms layered over summery surf-rock melodies provides the perfect backdrop for the band to fearlessly fly the flag for the queer community and feminism.

It arrives ahead of the band's upcoming UK tour, which kicks off in Cardiff on September 1. Head below for dates and ticket details.

Dream Nails Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Wed September 01 2021 - CARDIFF Moon
Thu September 02 2021 - BRISTOL Louisiana
Fri September 03 2021 - NOTTINGHAM Bodega Social Club
Sat September 04 2021 - BIRMINGHAM Muthers Studio
Sun September 05 2021 - LEEDS Hyde Park Book Club
Tue September 07 2021 - YORK Fulford Arms
Wed September 08 2021 - GLASGOW Hug and Pint
Thu September 09 2021 - SHEFFIELD Sidney&Matilda
Fri September 10 2021 - MANCHESTER Castle Hotel
Sat September 11 2021 - LIVERPOOL Kazimier Stockroom
Mon September 13 2021 - NORWICH Voodoo Daddy's Showroom
Wed September 15 2021 - SOUTHAMPTON Heartbreakers
Sat October 30 2021 - LONDON Oslo

Compare & Buy Dream Nails Tickets at Stereoboard.com.



Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

No related news to show
 
< Prev   Next >