Home > News & Reviews > Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds

Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds Post Unreleased Track Vortex From 'B-Sides & Rarities Part II'

Friday, 27 August 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Cat Stevens

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds have an unearthed a previously unreleased song. 

The gentle, swooning Vortex was penned in 2006 by Cave, Warren Ellis, Martyn Casey and Jim Sclavunos, before being shelved because they couldn't decide whether to put it out as Grinderman or the Bad Seeds. It'll feature on the newly announced 'B-Sides & Rarities Part II', the group's second compilation of rare and previously unheard tracks recorded between 2006 and 2020. 

Comprising 27 compositions, the standard edition features the first recordings of album cuts such as Skeleton Tree, Girl In Amber, and Bright Horses, along with the 63-year-old's cover of Leonard Cohen's Avalanche, while a limited edition deluxe seven-vinyl box set boasts 83 tracks.

The band put out their first 'B-Sides & Rarities' three-disc package in 2005. The next instalment will be released on October 22 on double vinyl, double CD, deluxe double CD and across all digital platforms. Cave said:

"I always liked the original 'B-Sides & Rarities' more than any of our other albums. It's the only one I’d listen to willingly. It seems more relaxed, even a bit nonsensical in places, but with some beautiful songs throughout. There is something, too, about the smallness of certain songs that is closer to their original spirit.

'B-Sides & Rarities Part II' continues this strange and beautiful collection of lost songs from The Bad Seeds. I love the final side of the last disc because it reveals the small and fragile beginnings of some of my favourite Bad Seeds songs. Waiting For You complete with bizarre "canning factory" rhythm track, a gorgeous Life Per Se deemed too sad for 'Skeleton Tree', and Earthlings that some consider the finest track of the 'Ghosteen' sessions."

Cave and the Bad Seeds will embark on a short European tour in summer 2022. In February of this year, meanwhile, Cave and Ellis released 'Carnage', which was recorded over a couple of weeks during the COVID-19 lockdown. Following that, they put out a 7" single called Grief. The pair will embark on their own UK tour this autumn. Head here for details. 

'B-Sides & Rarities Part II' tracklist:

1. Hey Little Firing Squad
2. Fleeting Love
3. Accidents Will Happen
4. Free To Walk (with Debbie Harry]
5. Avalanche
6. Vortex
7. Needle Boy
8. Lightning Bolts
9. Animal X
10. Give Us A Kiss
11. Push The Sky Away (live with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra)
12. First Skeleton Tree
13. King Sized Nick Cave Blues
14. Opium Eyes
15. Big Dream (With Sky)
16. Instrumental #33
17. Hell Villanelle
18. Euthanasia
19. Life Per Se
20. Steve McQueen
21. First Bright Horses
22. First Girl In Amber
23. Glacier
24. Heart That Kills You
25. First Waiting For You
26. Sudden Song
27. Earthlings

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Wed May 18 2022 - OYA Oyafestivalen (Norway)
Wed June 15 2022 - ATHENS Nero Square (Greece)
Wed June 29 2022 - BERLIN Waldbuhne (Germany)
Fri July 01 2022 - BELFORT Les Eurockeennes (France)
Wed August 03 2022 - RASTATT Erenhof Im Schloss (Germany)
Fri August 05 2022 - KLAM Burg (Austria)
Sun August 07 2022 - GLIWICE Gliwice Arena (Poland)
Mon August 08 2022 - GDANSK Ergo Arena (Poland)

Compare & Buy Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds Tickets at Stereoboard.com.


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >