Home > News & Reviews > Sleigh Bells

Sleigh Bells - Texis (Album Review)

Tuesday, 05 October 2021 Written by Jessica Howkins

Photo: Chris Vultaggio

Over the course of four albums, New York duo Sleigh Bells have thrown everything at reimagining how electro-rock works. Saying goodbye to any sort of genre formula, they have been a brash, colourful force that’s impossible to ignore. Righting the ship just a little, ‘Texis’ doubles down on some of their best moves. 

Having seen their last record ‘Jessica Rabbit’ step outside of their brazen sound a little too regularly, ‘Texis’ pleasingly serves up sugary hooks and crushing guitars. But that’s not to say that Sleigh Bells are standing still.

The opener SWEET75, Knowing and Justine Go Genesis underline the fact that their handling of electronic elements has matured and now sounds—dare we say it—almost polished. 

Fortunately, that doesn’t mean their edges have been smoothed out. The gravitation towards soft metal vibes doesn’t flop as much as it did on ‘Jessica Rabbit’. Rather, the opposite is true this time. They act as infectious moments of chaotic energy, a scramble for attention between new and old elements as they fight to the top. 

From the ‘80s electro-rock vibes of An Acre Lost to the lyrics that make up the emotionally brutal Knowing, the nimble tones that surround True Seekers and the experimental sounds of Rosary, this is a rejuvenation for Sleigh Bells. ‘Texis’ is a testament to the New York duo's talents to create something truly exciting and while there is still a lot of room to broaden their horizons, why fix something if it isn’t broken?

Sleigh Bells Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows:

Tue October 05 2021 - RALEIGH North Carolina - Lincoln Theatre Raleigh (USA)
Wed October 06 2021 - RICHMOND Virginia - Broadberry (USA)
Fri October 08 2021 - NASHVILLE Tennessee - Mercy Lounge (USA)
Sat October 09 2021 - CHARLOTTE North Carolina - Underground (USA)
Sun October 10 2021 - ATLANTA Georgia - Center Stage Theatre (USA)
Tue October 12 2021 - HOUSTON Texas - Warehouse Live (USA)
Wed October 13 2021 - AUSTIN Texas - Mohawk (USA)
Fri October 15 2021 - DALLAS Texas - Granada Theater - Dallas (USA)
Sun October 17 2021 - ENGLEWOOD Colorado - Gothic Theatre (USA)
Mon October 18 2021 - SALT LAKE CITY Utah - Metro Music Hall (USA)
Wed October 20 2021 - PHOENIX Arizona - Crescent Ballroom (USA)
Thu October 21 2021 - LOS ANGELES California - Teragram Ballroom (USA)
Fri October 22 2021 - LOS ANGELES California - Teragram Ballroom (USA)
Sat October 23 2021 - OAKLAND California - New Parish (USA)
Tue October 26 2021 - PORTLAND Oregon - Wonder Ballroom (USA)
Wed October 27 2021 - VANCOUVER British Columbia - Venue (Canada)
Thu October 28 2021 - SEATTLE Washington - Showbox (USA)
Tue February 08 2022 - COLUMBUS Ohio - Newport Music Hall (USA)
Wed February 09 2022 - CINCINNATI Ohio - Taft Theatre (USA)
Fri February 11 2022 - ST LOUIS Missouri - Red Flag Concert Hall (USA)
Sat February 12 2022 - KANSAS CITY Missouri - Truman - Kansas City (USA)
Sun February 13 2022 - OMAHA Nebraska - Slowdown (USA)
Tue February 15 2022 - MILWAUKEE Wisconsin - Turner Hall Ballroom (USA)
Wed February 16 2022 - MINNEAPOLIS Minnesota - Fine Line Music Cafe (USA)
Fri February 18 2022 - CHICAGO Illinois - Metro Chicago (USA)
Sat February 19 2022 - DETROIT Michigan - Magic Stick (USA)
Mon February 21 2022 - TORONTO Ontario - Axis Club (Canada)
Wed February 23 2022 - WASHINGTON District Of Columbia - 9:30 Club (USA)
Thu February 24 2022 - BOSTON Massachusetts - Paradise Rock Club (USA)
Fri February 25 2022 - BROOKLYN New York - Brooklyn Steel (USA)
Sun February 27 2022 - PHILADELPHIA Penn - Theatre Of The Living Arts (USA)
Fri March 04 2022 - CHARLOTTE North Carolina - Underground (USA)
Sun March 06 2022 - ATLANTA Georgia - Center Stage Theater (USA)

Compare & Buy Sleigh Bells Tickets at Stereoboard.com.



Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

Thu 26 Aug 2021
Sleigh Bells Post New Song Justine Go Genesis
Wed 28 Jul 2021
Sleigh Bells Announce New Album 'Texis', Post First Single Locust Laced
 
< Prev   Next >