Home > News & Reviews > Tears For Fears

Tears For Fears Announce First Album In 17 Years 'The Tipping Point', Share Title Track

Thursday, 07 October 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Frank Ockenfels

Tears For Fears are back with details of their first album in 17 years.

The long-awaited follow-up to 2004's 'Everybody Loves A Happy Ending' is called 'The Tipping Point' and will arrive on February 25 via Concord Records.

The duo are joined on their seventh studio record by their longtime collaborator, guitarist, writer and producer Charlton Pettus, as well as producers and songwriters Sacha Skarbek and Florian Reutter.

Alongside the announcement, Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith have also shared the record's title track, a serene, dreamlike pop number that finds Smith's vocals floating lightly above the synthy atmospheric production. It was penned by Orzabal alongside Pettus, and co-produced by the band, Skarbek and Reutter. It arrives paired with a video viewable below. Commenting on the LP, Orzabel said:

"Before everything went so right with this album, everything first had to go wrong, it took years, but something happens when we put our heads together. We’ve got this balance, this push-me-pull-you thing – and it works really well." 

Smith added: "If that balance doesn’t work on a Tears For Fears album, the whole thing just doesn’t work. To put it in simple terms, a Tears For Fears record and what people perceive to be the sound of Tears For Fears – is the stuff we can both agree on.

"When you’ve known each other as long as we have, and have worked together as long as we have, there’s a bond there that becomes familial. So, it’s different from a friendship. And it’s different from a marriage. It’s literally like that’s your brother. It’s the kind of bond that you can’t really break. It can fall apart at times. You separate for periods, which I also think is healthy, really. But in the end, we always seem to find each other again."

Tears For Fears will headline Lytham Festival in July 2022. Tickets are on sale.

'The Tipping Point' tracklist:

1. No Small Thing
2. The Tipping Point
3. Long, Long, Long Time
4. Break The Man
5. My Demons
6. Rivers Of Mercy
7. Please Be Happy
8. Master Plan
9. End Of Night
10. Stay

Deluxe CD bonus track:
1. Secret Location

Super deluxe edition CD bonus tracks:
1. Let It All Evolve
2. Secret Location
3. The Shame

Tears For Fears Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Sat July 09 2022 - LANCASHIRE Lytham Green

Compare & Buy Tears For Fears Tickets at Stereoboard.com.


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >