Home > News & Reviews > AWOLNATION

AWOLNATION Post Cover Of Midnight Oil's Beds Are Burning With Rise Against's Tim McIlrath

Friday, 25 February 2022 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Kari Rowe

AWOLNATION has shared a cover of Midnight Oil's Beds Are Burning.

The punchy collaboration with Tim McIlrath of Rise Against stays faithful to the original 1987 protest song, and will appear on the upcoming star-studded covers album, 'My Echo, My Shadow, My Covers and Me', due out on May 6. AWOLNATION's founder Aaron Bruno said:

"Ever since I was much younger, I would sing along to this song. The singer may have the coolest dance moves in music video history. I think this song speaks for itself in terms of the message and meaning of the song. I was excited that Tim from Rise Against performed on this one in particular, given the power and influence his lyrics and music have had for so many years."

McIlrath added: "When I met Aaron years ago at one of our shows at the Coliseum in L.A., he disclosed his past time spent in hardcore bands, and we bonded over that. I’ve always been a fan of his, both as a person and his music, so it was an easy decision to guest on his version of Midnight Oil's Beds Are Burning. It didn’t hurt that I also love the song and all it stands for. I’m really impressed with the ways in which he made it his own because it’s not an easy song to reimagine."

It arrives with a trippy, futuristic animated video, directed and edited by Jason Michael Hall. Midnight Oil's Rob Hirst commented on the new version: "A tough new light on our old song! The whistle near the end is a deft touch…congrats AWOLNATION and Tim on doing a brilliant job!"

Head below to view the record's artwork and tracklist, which also boasts team-ups with Beck, Jewel, Portugal. The Man and more.

'My Echo, My Shadow, My Covers and Me' tracklist:

1. Beds Are Burning (featuring Tim McIlrath of Rise Against)
2. Eye In The Sky (featuring Beck)
3. Take A Chance on Me (featuring Jewel)
4. Maniac (featuring Conor Mason of Nothing But Thieves)
5. Just A Friend (featuring Hyro The Hero)
6. Material Girl (featuring Taylor Hanson of Hanson)
7. Wind of Change (featuring Brandon Boyd of Incubus & Portugal The Man)
8. Waiting Room (featuring Grouplove)
9. Drive (on digital version only)
10. Flagpole Sitta (featuring Elohim)
11. Alone Again (featuring Midland)


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >