Home > News & Reviews > Yungblud

Yungblud - Yungblud (Album Review)

Wednesday, 07 September 2022 Written by Huw Baines

Arriving at his third album, Yungblud is in an interesting spot. To his fans, who sent album two ‘Weird’ to the top of the UK charts, he is a relatable emblem of rebellion and freedom. Outside of that passionate group, though, he’s a sometimes confusing jumble of influences: scene kid eyeliner, ‘77 punk iconography, a lip-curling sneer over 1975-style pop.

Album three, which is pointedly self-titled, acknowledges this chaotic blend chiefly by doing nothing to alter it. ‘Yungblud’ is an admirable doubling down from the 25-year-old, born Dominic Harrison. It is dramatic, self-righteous, and lit up by the conviction of youth. When it finds melodies to match, it’s very effective. The rest of the time, the mess is just a mess.

Opening with The Funeral, Harrison taps into a vocal style that is equal parts Billy Idol and Neil Diamond to deliver a skipping alt-rock song that understands the assignment from top to bottom.

When its pre-chorus leads into the big pay off, even the biggest cynics out there will likely be swept up by its commitment to the bit.

Harrison hits paydirt again—the Willow collaboration Memories is perfectly snotty—but misses his targets with equal regularity. Sweet Heroine is a maudlin ballad that can be summed up by its trite title, while I Cry 2 takes the bare bones of Arab Strap’s The First Big Weekend and recasts them in a saccharine tale of post-break up solidarity.

There is a feeling at this stage that Harrison will never rein in these inconsistencies because they are so closely tied to who he is. Self-titled albums are often intended as statements of authenticity—for better or worse, that’s exactly what ‘Yungblud’ is.

Yungblud Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows:

Tue October 18 2022 - DUBLIN Button Factory
Thu October 20 2022 - DUNDEE Fat Sams
Fri October 21 2022 - NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE Boiler Room
Sat October 22 2022 - LEEDS Riley Smith Theatre
Sun October 23 2022 - LIVERPOOL Hangar 34
Mon October 24 2022 - COVENTRY HMV Empire
Tue October 25 2022 - BOURNEMOUTH Old Fire Station
Wed October 26 2022 - SOUTHAMPTON 1865
Thu October 27 2022 - KINGSTON Pryzm
Sat October 29 2022 - BRIGHTON Chalk
Thu February 16 2023 - CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena
Sat February 18 2023 - BIRMINGHAM Resorts World Arena
Sun February 19 2023 - MANCHESTER AO Arena
Tue February 21 2023 - NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE Utilita Arena
Wed February 22 2023 - GLASGOW OVO Hydro
Fri February 24 2023 - SHEFFIELD Utilita Arena
Sat February 25 2023 - LONDON OVO Arena Wembley

Compare & Buy Yungblud Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

NOTE FROM THE EDITOR

We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!


Let Us Know Your Thoughts




Related News

Tue 13 Sep 2022
Yungblud Plots North American Tour Dates For Spring And Summer 2023
Wed 31 Aug 2022
Yungblud Posts New Track Tissues
Thu 25 Aug 2022
Yungblud Tickets For February 2023 UK Arena Tour On Sale 9am Today
Fri 19 Aug 2022
Yungblud Announces UK Arena Tour For February 2023 - Tickets On Sale Thursday August 25
Fri 05 Aug 2022
Yungblud Posts New Single The Emperor
 
< Prev   Next >