Home > News & Reviews > Alex Lahey

Alex Lahey Continues To Tease 'The Best Of Luck Club' With New Single Unspoken History

Wednesday, 08 May 2019 Written by Laura Johnson

Photo: Callum Preston

Alex Lahey has released a new single, Unspoken History.

The track is the third and final cut, following Don't Be So Hard On Yourself and Am I Doing It Right?, to be shared from her new album, 'The Best Of Luck Club', which is due out on May 17. Lahey said:

"When I was in Nashville, I spent some time in a tiny writing room creating songs for this record. Towards the end of that time, I felt as though I was starting to exhaust my output and was starting to become complacent about what I had left to give. On one of my last days there, I was lent a guitar that was set up in a variation on open D tuning, which is something I never play in. In the process of nutting out chords and voicing in this tuning, the melody to the verses just came out. When I started putting words to it, it started off as being about one thing, but then morphed into something else, creating its own path very organically."

The song is a much more sombre offering than we're used to from the Australian singer-songwriter. With its understated guitar and piano melodies, it shows Lahey is just as effective when paring things back as when she's cranking the pop-rock up to 10.

Lahey will support her new record with shows in the UK and Ireland, Australia and North America. Check below for dates and tickets.

Alex Lahey Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Mon May 13 2019 - GLASGOW Broadcast
Wed May 15 2019 - BELFAST Empire Music Hall
Thu May 16 2019 - DUBLIN Grand Social
Fri May 17 2019 - LIVERPOOL Arts Club, Loft
Sun May 19 2019 - LEICESTER Cookie
Mon May 20 2019 - CARDIFF Clwb Ifor Bach
Thu May 23 2019 - LONDON Oslo

Fri June 07 2019 - ADELAIDE Gov
Thu June 13 2019 - BRISBANE Tivoli
Fri June 14 2019 - CANBERRA Basement
Sat June 15 2019 - SYDNEY Metro Theatre
Sat June 22 2019 - MELBOURNE Forum

Tue August 13 2019 - LOS ANGELES California - Troubadour (USA)
Wed August 14 2019 - PHOENIX Arizona - Music Hall At Valley Bar (USA)
Fri August 16 2019 - AUSTIN Texas - Antones (USA)
Mon August 19 2019 - ATLANTA Georgia - Earl (USA)
Tue August 20 2019 - NASHVILLE Tennessee - Exit In (USA)
Thu August 22 2019 - WASHINGTON District Of Columbia - U Street Music Hall (USA)
Fri August 23 2019 - BROOKLYN New York - Music Hall Of Williamsburg (USA)
Sat August 24 2019 - PHILADELPHIA Pennsylvania - Johnny Brenda's (USA)
Sun August 25 2019 - ALLSTON Massachusetts - Great Scott (USA)
Tue August 27 2019 - CHICAGO Illinois - Lincoln Hall (USA)
Wed August 28 2019 - SAINT PAUL Minnesota - Turf Club (USA)
Sun September 01 2019 - VANCOUVER British Columbia - Biltmore Cabaret (Canada)
Tue September 03 2019 - PORTLAND Oregon - Doug Fir Lounge (USA)

Click here to compare & buy Alex Lahey Tickets at Stereoboard.com.





Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

Wet Plate Portraits: Alex Lahey At Clwb Ifor Bach
Thu 23 May 2019
td#right {display:none !important;} Photograph: Gareth Jarvis As Gareth Jarvis sets up for the fourth edition of Stereoboard’s wet plate portrait series in the green room of Clwb Ifor Bach in Cardiff, Alex Lahey eyes his vintage camera with curiosity. “How old is it?” she asks, before getting excited that the antique brass lens has Melbourne engraved on it. “That’s where I’m from!” she exclaims, before listening intently as it’s explained that we’ll be taking her picture with equipment from the 1800s.
The Importance Of Being Honest: Alex Lahey Talks 'The Best Of Luck Club'
Thu 16 May 2019
Photo: Callum Preston “My problems are so miniscule in terms of the big picture,” sings Alex Lahey on Interior Demeanour, the third track from her second album, ‘The Best Of Luck Club’. It’s this modest outlook that makes the Melbourne native so relatable, but she’s possibly more shrewd and sharp-witted than even she realises.
Alex Lahey Drops New Single Am I Doing It Right?
Wed 03 Apr 2019
Photo: Callum Preston Alex Lahey has dropped a new single.
Competition: The 100 Ticket Giveaway!
Wed 17 Jul 2019
Stereoboard.com are giving away a £100 voucher for one lucky winner in our brand new monthly competition.
Bleached - Don't You Think You've Had Enough? (Album Review)
Tue 16 Jul 2019
Bleached’s return is powered by a desire for change. ‘Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough?’ is the first album that the sisters Clavin, Jennifer and Jessica, have recorded since deciding to get sober, and it’s also a bold attempt to fashion their winningly bratty brand of garage-rock into more expressive, sophisticated shapes.
Love Letter To Their Youth: Dude York Talk New Album 'Falling'
Wed 24 Jul 2019
Exposure to early 2000s emo, nu-metal and pop-punk usually results in one of two reactions: a disgusted sneer, often accompanied by an exasperated sigh, or a knowing smile followed by overly enthusiastic headbanging. Dude York’s members would choose the latter.
Yebba Releases Airy New Single Where Do You Go
Fri 09 Aug 2019
Yebba, real name Abbey Smith, has shared a new single.
Swae Lee Teams Up With Drake For Summer Jam Won't Be Late
Fri 16 Aug 2019
Swae Lee has dropped two new singles.
 
< Prev   Next >