Home > News & Reviews > Africa Express

Damon Albarn's Africa Express Line Up Summer Release For New Album 'EGOLI', Share Lead Single

Wednesday, 08 May 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

Africa Express, the musical collective co-founded by Blur and Gorillaz frontman Damon Albarn, have announced the release of a new studio album, 'EGOLI'.

Previewed by lead single Johannesburg, which twins a driving drum beat with breezy vocals from Gruff Rhys, the 18-track full length is scheduled to arrive on July 12 via the newly created Africa Express Records.

Created in just seven days, the follow up to this year's 'MOLO' EP features collaborations between western and african artists, including Blue May, Georgia, Ghetts, Mr Jukes, Yeah Yeah Yeah's Nick Zinner, Remi Kabaka, Otim Alpha and Poté, as well as several emerging and established stars of the South African music scene. Georgia said:

"It was such a pleasure to be part of such a special project. This album goes far beyond just a record it is an example of the rich, modern and pioneering sounds coming out of South Africa. Absolute honour to have been involved. Africa Express is such an important platform and collective."

Head below to check out the 'EGOLI' tracklist, new song and album teaser.

'EGOLI' tracklist:

1. Welcome (ft. Phuzekhemisi)
2. City in Lights (ft. Georgia, Mahotella Queens, Otim Alpha, Nick Zinner)
3. The River (ft. Muzi, Zola 7, Mahotella Queens)
4. Bittersweet Escape (ft. Mr Jukes, Nonku Phiri, BCUC)
5. Johannesburg (ft. Gruff Rhys, Morena Leraba, Radio 123, Sibot)
6. Become the Tiger (ft. Sibot, Damon Albarn, Mr Jukes)
7. Africa to the World (ft. Infamous Boiz, Dominowe, Otim Alpha, Mahotella Queens, Nick Zinner, Remi Kabaka, Radio 123)
8. Absolutely Everything Is Pointing Towards the Light (ft. Gruff Rhys, Zolani Mahola)
9. Where Will This Lead Us To? (ft. Moonchild Sanelly, Radio 123, Blue May)
10. Mama (ft. Otim Alpha, Georgia, Radio 123)
11. No Games (ft. Sho Madjozi, Poté, Moonchild Sanelly, Ghetts, Muzi, Radio 123)
12. Morals (ft. Moonchild Sanelly, Mahotella Queens, Muzi, Mr Jukes)
13. Taranau (ft. Otim Alpha, Gruff Rhys)
14. The Return of Bacardi [ft. DJ Spoko, FAKA)
15. Sizi Freaks (ft. Infamous Boiz, Moonchild Sanelly)
16. Twirl (ft. Poté, Ghetts)
17. I Can't Move (ft. Damon Albarn, Moonchild Sanelly, Mr Jukes, Sibot, Blue May)
18. See the World (ft. Mahotella Queens, Damon Albarn, Gruff Rhys)

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Damon Albarn's Africa Express Confirm Spring Concert As Part Of First London Borough Of Culture Year
Fri 15 Feb 2019
Africa Express, the project of Blur and Gorillaz frontman Damon Albarn, will play a one-off show in London this spring.
George Ezra Tickets For September London Royal Albert Hall Shows On Sale 10am Today
Fri 26 Jul 2019
George Ezra has lined up two special London shows for later this year. George Ezra tickets go on general sale at 10am today.
So Emotional: Seven Standout Christina Aguilera Moments
Thu 18 Jul 2019
You know as well as us that Christina Aguilera needs no introduction, but we’re going to give her one anyway. Eight albums. Over 100 awards. A soundtrack. A Spanish-language LP. A star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Bangers aplenty.
Ed Sheeran - No.6 Collaborations Project (Album Review)
Mon 15 Jul 2019
Ed Sheeran’s fourth studio album takes its title from an EP he made eight years ago, pre-superstardom. As he noted on Instagram: “Before I was signed in 2011, I made an EP called No.5 Collaborations Project. Since then, I've always wanted to do another, so I started No.6 on my laptop when I was on tour last year.”
Melanie Martinez Tickets For UK And Ireland K-12 Tour Dates On Sale 10am Today
Fri 09 Aug 2019
Melanie Martinez will perform across the UK and Ireland this winter. Melanie Martinez tickets go on general sale at 10am today.
Banks - III (Album Review)
Fri 19 Jul 2019
‘III’, Banks’ appropriately titled third album, has been a short while in the making but feels like the culmination of the songwriter’s more ambitious work to this point. Five years since the release of her debut LP 'Goddess' the LA artist has shifted direction within her sound, infusing her synth-heavy trip-pop aesthetic with a jaded sense of heartbreak, maturity and raw passion.
< Prev   Next >