Home > News & Reviews > Roger Daltrey

Roger Daltrey Announces Release Of The Who's 'Tommy Orchestral' Album

Thursday, 09 May 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

Roger Daltrey has announced the release of a live orchestral version of The Who's 'Tommy' album.

The vocalist spent last summer accompanied by members of the legendary British rock band, performing their 1969 seminal album at huge shows across North America while collaborating with some of the best symphony orchestras the US has to offer.

'Tommy Orchestral' captures Daltrey and band's performances in Budapest and Bethel in upstate New York, with the frontman working alongside composer and arranger David Campbell. Previewed by the live version of Pinball Wizard, the release will arrive on June 14 via Polydor. Speaking about the appeal of the classic rock opera after 50 years and why it sounds better with an orchestra, Daltrey said:

"Pete's music is particularly suited to being embellished by the sounds that an orchestra can add to the band. 'Tommy' can mean whatever you want it to mean, I use the characters in it as metaphors for parts of the human condition, so it’s a kind of a story of the human spirit. Even though it is 50 years on, I approach it as though I'm singing it for the first time."

The Who have just kicked off their Moving On! Tour in North America and will perform parts of 'Tommy' when they play London's Wembley Stadium on July 6 accompanied by a full symphony orchestra. They'll be joined by Pearl Jam vocalist Eddie Vedder and Kaiser Chiefs. Tickets are on sale now.

'Tommy Orchestral' tracklist:

1. Overture
2. It's A Boy
3. 1921
4. Amazing Journey
5. Sparks
6. Eyesight To The Blind
7. Christmas
8. Cousin Kevin
9. The Acid Queen
10. Do You Think It's Alright
11. Fiddle About
12. Pinball Wizard
13. There's A Doctor
14. Go To The Mirror
15. Tommy, Can You Hear
16. Smash The Mirror
17. Refrain - It's A Boy
18. I'm Free
19. Miracle Cure
20. Sensation
21. Sally Simpson
22. Welcome
23. Tommy's Holiday Camp
24. We're Not Gonna Take It

The Who Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Sat July 06 2019 - LONDON Wembley Stadium

Click here to compare & buy The Who Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Roger Daltrey Announces New Solo Album 'As Long As I Have You', Shares Title Track
Thu 15 Mar 2018
Roger Daltrey has announced his ninth solo record.
Matt Bellamy's Beatles Tribute Band To Open Roger Daltrey's Royal Albert Hall Show
Wed 07 Mar 2018
Dr. Pepper’s Jaded Hearts Club Band, the Beatles cover group led by Muse frontman Matt Bellamy, will open Roger Daltrey’s Royal Albert Hall show later this month.
Roger Daltrey Forced To Cancel Three 'Tommy' Shows & Announces New Show In Sheffield & Tickets
Thu 26 May 2011
Roger Daltrey, rock legend and frontman for iconic British band The Who, has been forced to cancel three upcoming solo shows.
Fleetwood Mac Announce Rescheduled North American Dates
Thu 18 Apr 2019
Fleetwood Mac have rescheduled the dates that were recently postponed while singer Stevie Nicks recovered from the flu.
Win Tickets To See Mark Knopfler At Newcastle's Utilita Arena
Mon 13 May 2019
Stereoboard are giving away a pair of tickets to see Mark Knopfler perform in Newcastle on Sunday May 19.
Journey Announce Las Vegas Residency At Caesars Palace
Tue 16 Apr 2019
Journey have announced they'll return to Las Vegas later this year for a new residency.
Robert Plant Plots Fall North American Tour
Wed 08 May 2019
Robert Plant will embark on a short North American tour in September. 
Glenn Hughes Postpones Classic Deep Purple Live Tour Due To Illness
Mon 13 May 2019
Glenn Hughes has been forced to postpone his Classic Deep Purple Live Tour dates.
< Prev   Next >