Home > News & Reviews > Foy Vance

Foy Vance Announces Two New Albums 'From Muscle Shoals' And 'To Memphis'

Sunday, 12 May 2019 Written by Laura Johnson

Foy Vance has announced two new albums.

The Northern Irish singer-songwriter will put out 'From Muscle Shoals' on June 28 through Gingerbread Man Records, Ed Sheeran’s label. Discussing the follow up to 2016's 'The Wild Swan' and its soul influence, he said:

“When I had demoed the ‘soul’ songs years ago I had tried to emulate the old school southern soul sound of Muscle Shoals. Impossible of course, but these were just sketches of what the songs could be. The only way to truly do them justice is to go to the source of that sound. That room at FAME [Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama] housed some of the hardest working musicians and artists known to man. Rick Hall (El Presidente) along with a group of musicians called the Swampers and a sterling cast of soul legends like Aretha Franklin, Otis Redding, Wilson Picket, Percy Sledge, Etta James and The Staples Singers to casually name a few. Something in the rawness of this music really affected me from a young age and I had always considered making a record in this vein, so when I saw this collection of songs I knew immediately where I needed to go to document them. I suppose that is really what this project is. Documenting songs that would otherwise go unheard.”

'To Memphis', the companion record to 'From Muscle Shoals', is due to follow in September. For this album he explained how the influence was Americana:

“I have always been such a massive fan of American Folk Music in all its many forms. There is a certain candidness to it. The ‘Americana’ songs proved intriguing as some where very old and written somewhat wryly, but a good few were songs written in the last six months that felt like they belonged to these older ones in some way.”

'From Muscle Shoals' tracklist:

1. You Get To Me
2. You Love Are My Only
3. Moving On
4. Sunshine or Rain
5. Pain Never Hurt Me Like Love
6. Be With Me
7. Good Time Southern Soul
8. Hard Work
9. I’m Coming Over
10. Make it Rain

Vance will support Snow Patrol at Ward Park in Northern Ireland on May 25. Head here for tickets.


Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Foy Vance Confirms Third London Date
Mon 15 May 2017
Foy Vance has added a third London show to his tour plans.
Foy Vance Sets Up Autumn UK And Ireland Shows
Mon 08 May 2017
Foy Vance has announced a fresh round of dates for the autumn.
Foy Vance Confirms Spring UK Shows
Mon 07 Nov 2016
Foy Vance will return to UK venues next spring.
The Hives Announce First Album In Seven Years, Release New Track I'm Alive
Fri 17 May 2019
The Hives are back!
Thurston Moore Announces New Album 'Spirit Counsel'
Fri 17 May 2019
Ahead of his upcoming London show, Thurston Moore has announced a new album.
Mark Ronson Shares New Single Don't Leave Me Lonely Featuring Yebba
Fri 17 May 2019
Mark Ronson has released another song from 'Late Night Feelings'.
Thom Yorke Shares Two New Classical Singles
Mon 29 Apr 2019
Thom Yorke has released two new tracks.
Idlewild - Interview Music (Album Review)
Fri 12 Apr 2019
‘Interview Music’, Idlewild’s eighth studio album, finds them following up on the relative success of their 2015 comeback ‘Everything Ever Written’. After a break of six years, that LP surprised a few by sending their sweeping indie-rock back into the UK top 20. Here, though, things seem a little different.
< Prev   Next >