Home > News & Reviews > Beach Slang

Beach Slang Detail New LP 'The Deadbeat Bang Of Heartbreak City', Share First Single

Monday, 14 October 2019 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Charlie Lowe

Beach Slang have announced a new album.

’The Deadbeat Bang Of Heartbreak City’, which boasts guest bassist Tommy Stinson of the Replacements, will arrive on January 10 via Bridge Nine Records.

Along with the album’s artwork and tracklist, the band have shared the record's first single, Bam Rang Rang, a loud and chaotic blur of howling guitars and breathy vocals. In an interview with Kerrang, who premiered the track, frontman James Alex said:

"I was listening to an interview with Paul Westerberg about the way he went at writing songs for a particular record — Come Feel Me Tremble maybe? I don’t know… My head loses stuff easily. But, yeah, he called the way he’d hit his guitar as ’just going bam, rang, rang.’ I heard that and it shot me good. I knew, straight away, I wanted to write a real dirty burner and call it Bam Rang Rang, something that made you want to buy a motorcycle, smoke a cigarette and land a hangover.

"I heard someone say I wasn’t a very good guitar player and I wanted to prove them wrong. I mean, they’re right, but I figured I’d just play loud enough to let them know they weren’t. There’s something about a sleazy riff on a ratty guitar that makes everything alright. So, I smashed Angus Young into Marc Bolan and got a great, big, messy chunk of glam and swagger. Pick your heroes right, you know?"

’The Deadbeat Bang Of Heartbreak City' tracklist:

1. All The Kids In LA
2. Let It Ride
3. Bam Rang Rang
4. Tommy In The 80s
5. Nobody Say Nothing
6. Nowhere Bus
7. Stiff
8. Born To Raise Hell
9. Sticky Thumbs
10. Kicking Over Bottles
11. Bar No One

Beach Slang will tour North America supporting the Goo Goo Dolls this fall.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Thu 07 Nov 2019
Beach Slang Share New Song Tommy In The 80s
< Prev   Next >