Home > News & Reviews > Marika Hackman

Marika Hackman Announces New Album 'Covers', Shares Cover Of Grimes' Realiti

Wednesday, 16 September 2020 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Luka Booth

Marika Hackman has shared details of her new album, 'Covers'.

As the title suggests, the record includes reworkings of songs by Air, Alvvays, Beyoncé, Edith Frost, Elliott Smith, Muna, Radiohead, the Shins, Sharon Van Etten and Grimes.

It was recorded and self-produced by Hackman during the COVID-19 lockdown between home and her parents' house, with the singer-songwriter experimenting with a darker, more introspective sound through sparse arrangements. She said:

"When it comes to covers, I like to pick songs which I have been listening to obsessively for a while. It gives me a natural understanding of the music, and lets me be more innovative with how I transform it."

Hackman will release the follow-up to 2019's 'Any Human Friend' on November 13 via Transgressive. As a preview, she's shared her minimal take on Grimes' Realiti as well as the record's artwork and tracklist, viewable below.

A live stream with her full band will take place on the record's release day, with tickets available to fans who pre-order the LP.

'Covers' tracklist:

1. You Never Wash Up After Yourself
2. Phantom Limb
3. Playground Love
4. Realiti
5. Jupiter 4
6. Pink Light
7. Between The Bars
8. Temporary Loan
9. In Undertow
10. All Night

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Tue 20 Oct 2020
Marika Hackman Unveils Covers Of Elliott Smith's Between The Bars And Beyoncé's All Night
< Prev   Next >