Home > News & Reviews > Holding Absence

Holding Absence Confirm Second LP 'The Greatest Mistake Of My Life', Share New Single Beyond Belief

Wednesday, 21 October 2020 Written by Jon Stickler

Holding Absence have shared details of their new album.

'The Greatest Mistake Of My Life' is scheduled to arrive on April 16 via SharpTone Records, following up their 2019 self-titled debut. The announcement comes alongside the release of the record's beautiful first single, Beyond Belief, which heralds something of a shift in style for the Cardiff band. Check out its accompanying video below.

Cast across a synth-driven backdrop, the track treads between atmospheric post-rock and '80s-inspired shoegaze while maintaining the raw, impassioned emotion the quartet are known for. Discussing a new era, vocalist Lucas Woodland said: 

"We are ecstatic to finally unveil Beyond Belief to the world! Just as jumping from black and white into colour is a huge change for our band, we believe the transition into Beyond Belief, and subsequently 'The Greatest Mistake Of My Life', is similarly significant.

"Beyond Belief sees our band embracing the 80's indie-shoegaze era with both arms, while still gripping firmly onto all the sounds that have made us who we are up until now. A song about love, and the fear of permanence - this really is Holding Absence, like you’ve never heard us before."

Head below to view the LP's cover art and tracklist. Expanding on it, he added: "This album is about telling stories that are presented through the lens of hindsight, regret and looking back. There are songs that celebrate life when faced with death, and others that speak to the choices we make about how we live our lives.

"The fear of love, newfound respect for life and the covering up of depression are all subjects that rear their head. 'The Greatest Mistake Of My Life' exercises emotion in many ways, and that was an important thing for us to do, because emotion isn’t rigid – it’s not just love or joy or sadness – it’s a lot of things.

'The Greatest Mistake Of My Life' tracklist:

1. Awake
2. Celebration Song
3. Curse Me with Your Kiss
4. Afterlife
5. Drugs and Love
6. In Circles
7. Nomoreroses
8. Beyond Belief
9. Die Alone (In Your Lover’s Arms)
10. Phantoms
11. Mourning Song
12. The Greatest Mistake of My Life
13. An Apology Note

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Fri 15 Jan 2021
Holding Absence Continue To Tease 'The Greatest Mistake Of My Life' With New Track Afterlife
< Prev   Next >