Home > News & Reviews > Julien Baker

Julien Baker Announces New Album 'Little Oblivions', Shares Lead Single Faith Healer

Wednesday, 21 October 2020 Written by Sophie Williams

Photo: Alysse Gafjken

Julien Baker has confirmed details of her third album.

’Little Oblivions’ is scheduled to land on February 26 via Matador Records, and will mark the first full-length release from the Tennessee native since 2017’s ’Turn Out The Lights’. View the forthcoming LP’s tracklist and artwork below.

The news arrives with the bruised lead single Faith Healer, an intimate folk-pop number that waltzes with moody guitar lines and a feather-light vocal from Baker. She explained: 

“I think that Faith Healer is a song about vices, both the obvious and the more insidious ways that they show up in the human experience”, says Baker. “I started writing this song 2 years ago and it began as a very literal examination of addiction. For a while, I only had the first verse, which is just a really candid confrontation of the cognitive dissonance a person who struggles with substance abuse can feel - the overwhelming evidence that this substance is harming you, and the counterintuitive but very real craving for the relief it provides.  When I revisited the song I started thinking about the parallels between the escapism of substance abuse and the other various means of escapism that had occupied a similar, if less easily identifiable, space in my psyche.
"There are so many channels and behaviors that we use to placate discomfort unhealthily which exist outside the formal definition of addiction. I (and so many other people) are willing to believe whomever-- a political pundit, a preacher, a drug dealer, an energy healer-- when they promise healing, and how that willingness, however genuine, might actually impede healing.”

In 2018, the 25-year-old teamed up with fellow singer-songwriters Lucy Dacus and Phoebe Bridgers to form collaborative project Boygenius, who released their eponymous debut EP in November that year.

’Little Oblivions’ tracklist:

1. Hardline
2. Heatwave
3. Faith Healer
4. Relative Fiction
5. Crying Wolf
6. Bloodshot
7. Ringside
8. Favor
9. Song in E
10. Repeat
11. Highlight Reel
12. Ziptie

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Tue 10 Aug 2021
Julien Baker Details Little Oblivions Remix EP Featuring Half Waif, Jesu, Thao And More
Mon 08 Mar 2021
Julien Baker - Little Oblivions (Album Review)
Wed 24 Feb 2021
Julien Baker Drops New Track Heatwave Ahead Of 'Little Oblivions' Release
Wed 03 Feb 2021
Julien Baker Shares New Single Favor Featuring Lucy Dacus and Phoebe Bridgers
Wed 13 Jan 2021
Julien Baker Shares Stop Motion Video For New Track Hardline
< Prev   Next >