Home > News & Reviews > Khruangbin

Khruangbin Announce Late Night Tales Compilation, Share Kool And The Gang Cover Summer Madness

Wednesday, 28 October 2020 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Tamsin Isaacs

Khruangbin have announced their own edition of the Late Night Tales series.

Curated by bassist Laura Lee Ochoa, guitarist Mark Speer and drummer Donald "DJ" Johnson, the 15-track global grooves compilation brings the Houston trio's career full circle, as they first stepped into the spotlight in 2013 when their cut A Calf Born in Winter featured in Bonobo's own collection of songs for the series.

Out on December 4, it'll feature the band's exclusive take on Kool And The Gang's Summer Madness, which echoes with spacey guitar reverb. Discussing it, Johnson said:

"Summer Madness became a staple in this medley that we play. Specifically, one of my favourite things about it is the tone of the bass, which really reminds me a lot of Laura Lee's bass which has this chunky, peanut butter, rich tone. It was always a special moment, getting to that song because, it just did something to the room, everywhere."

Laura Lee continues: "Summer Madness was paying homage to Kool and the Gang, a band we aspire to be like and also we've played it a hundred times but never in full."

The band released their latest studio album, 'Mordechai', in June. 

'Late Night Tales' tracklist:

1. Devadip Carlos Santana And Turiya Alice Coltrane - Illuminations
2. Brilliantes Del Veulo - I Know That (When The Springtime Comes)
3. Nazia Hassan - Khushi
4. Kelly Doyle - DRM
5. Sanulim - Don't Go
6. Maxwell Udoh - I Like It (Don’t Stop)
7. David Marez - Enséñame
8. Gerald Lee - Can You Feel The Love (Reprise)
9. Justine & The Victorian Punks - Still You
10. George Yanagi + Nadja Band -「祭ばやしが聞こえる」のテーマ
11. Песняры - Зачарованная моя
12. Khruangbin - Summer Madness (Exclusive Kool and the Gang cover)
13. Paloma San Basilio - Contigo
14. Roha Band - Yetikimt Abeba
15. Tierney Malone / Geoffrey Muller - Transmission for Jehn: Gnossienne No 1 (Produced by Khruangbin) (Exclusive Track)


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >