Home > News & Reviews > Danny Elfman

Danny Elfman Sets June Release For First Solo LP In 37 Years 'Big Mess', Shares New Track True

Tuesday, 13 April 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Jacob Boll

Danny Elfman has shared details of his first solo album in 37 years.

Following a string of singles released over the past few months, 'Big Mess' is set to arrive on June 11 via Anti- Records and Epitaph Records.

The film composer and former Oingo Boingo frontman is accompanied by drummer Josh Freese, bassist Stu Brooks, and guitarists Robin Finck and Nili Brosh on the record, which was primarily recorded during the COVID-19 lockdown in 2020. Elfman explained:

"Once I began writing it was like opening a Pandora’s box and I found I couldn’t stop. None of it was planned. I had no idea how many songs I would write but from the start, it quickly became a two-sided project with heavily contrasting and even conflicting tones."

Alongside the news, the four-time Oscar nominee and Grammy winner has unveiled a new song, True, an ominous composition that brings together industrial with orchestral. It's the fifth cut to be shared from the 18-track double album, after Kick MeLove In The Time Of Covid, Sorry, and Happy. Head below to view its accompanying video directed by Sarah Sitkin, who also created the LP's artwork.

Sitkin said: "The video is an exploration of fractured identity, muffled through the lens of memory. Danny is a central figure within the video, yet only in his reproduced likeness via prosthetics, masks and 3-D printed body parts. I wanted to make a video that was gritty, unpolished and uncomfortable."

'Big Mess' tracklist:

1. Sorry
2. True
3. In Time
4. Everybody Loves You
5. Dance With The Lemurs
6. Serious Ground
7. Choose Your Side
8. We Belong
9. Happy
10. Just A Human
11. Devil Take Away
12. Love In The Time Of Covid
13. Native Intelligence 
14. Better Times
15. Cruel Compensation
16. Kick Me
17. Get Over It
18. Insects

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Mon 15 Mar 2021
Danny Elfman Posts New Track Kick Me
Thu 11 Feb 2021
Danny Elfman Posts New Song Love In The Time Of Covid
Mon 11 Jan 2021
Danny Elfman Unveils New Song Sorry
Thu 29 Oct 2020
Danny Elfman Returns With Solo Single Happy
< Prev   Next >