Home > News & Reviews > We Are Scientists

We Are Scientists Unveil New Single Handshake Agreement

Thursday, 05 August 2021 Written by Sophie Pengelly

We Are Scientists have dropped a new song, Handshake Agreement.

The track is the third taste of their upcoming seventh album, 'Huffy,' after they dropped previous single Fault Lines in late 2020 and Contact High earlier in 2021.

Handshake Agreement picks up where the former cut left off, playfully but introspectively examining how social media allows people to abandon all forms of basic human manners and courtesy when arguing with strangers online. Let's face it, with a year of our conversations being almost entirely virtual, a refresher course from the We Are Scientists School Of Ettiquette is just the ticket. 

Singer and guitarist Keith Murray said:

"I could get into how, as far as I can tell, social media has reduced public conversation to this sort of dialogue, where everything is half-believed but doubly-passionate, but, let’s be honest nobody wants to hear already-obvious social theory from a guitar player... Suffice it to say that Handshake Agreement is my song about Twitter, and how whatever servers it’s being run on should be shot out of a cannon into the ocean, as quickly as possible.”

Serving up a cocktail of twiddly, funk-inspired guitar melodies and indie-rock power choruses, Handshake Agreement proves that the duo are not making their return in half measures. With 'Huffy' set to hit your ears on October 8, the band will support the new album with a 13-date UK and Ireland tour later this year, followed by a run of European dates in spring 2022.

We Are Scientists Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Wed November 24 2021 - SHEFFIELD Leadmill
Thu November 25 2021 - LEEDS Brudenell Social Club
Fri November 26 2021 - HULL Social
Sat November 27 2021 - MANCHESTER Manchester Academy 2
Mon November 29 2021 - DUBLIN Whelans
Tue November 30 2021 - BELFAST Limelight 2
Wed December 01 2021 - GLASGOW Saint Luke's
Thu December 02 2021 - LIVERPOOL O2 Academy2 Liverpool
Sat December 04 2021 - NOTTINGHAM Rescue Rooms
Mon December 06 2021 - BIRMINGHAM O2 Institute2
Tue December 07 2021 - BRISTOL Bristol Trinity
Wed December 08 2021 - BRIGHTON Concorde 2
Thu December 09 2021 - LONDON O2 Forum Kentish Town

Fri April 01 2022 - PARIS Le Petit Bain (France)
Sat April 02 2022 - MAASTRICHT Muziekgieterij (Netherlands)
Sun April 03 2022 - ANTWERP Kavka (Belgium)
Tue April 05 2022 - AMSTERDAM Paradiso Noord (Netherlands)
Wed April 06 2022 - COLOGNE LUXOR (Germany)
Thu April 07 2022 - NUREMBURG ZBau (Germany)
Sat April 09 2022 - VIENNA Grelle Forelle (Austria)
Sun April 10 2022 - BRATISLAVA Nova Cvernovka (Slovakia)
Mon April 11 2022 - PRAGUE Futurum (Czech Republic)
Tue April 12 2022 - LEIPZIG Werk 2 (Germany)
Wed April 13 2022 - BERLIN Hole44 (Germany)
Thu April 14 2022 - HAMBURG Knust (Germany)

Compare & Buy We Are Scientists Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

 



Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

Mon 13 Sep 2021
We Are Scientists Post New Track You've Lost Your Shit
Mon 05 Jul 2021
We Are Scientists Announce Come On Get Huffy UK and Ireland Tour For Winter
Thu 01 Jul 2021
We Are Scientists Announce New Album 'Huffy', Share Lead Single Contact High
 
< Prev   Next >