Home > News & Reviews > Chvrches

Chvrches Collaborate With John Carpenter For Two Remixes

Friday, 06 August 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Sebastian Mlynarski and Kevin J Thomson

Chvrches and John Carpenter have joined forces for two remixes.

The legendary director has added an orchestral touch to the Scottish group's recent single Good Girls, from their upcoming LP 'Screen Violence', while the trio have returned the gesture by putting a synth-pop spin on Turning The Bones, off the 73-year-old's 2021 album, 'Lost Themes III: Alive After Death'.

Both tracks are available digitally, with a 7" vinyl release coming on December 10. Vocalist Lauren Mayberry said:

"As horror fans, we know that John Carpenter is the godfather and the gold standard so we're so excited to get to work with him in any capacity. His films and music have been so impactful on us over the years, and without the stories he created I am not sure that the concept of 'Screen Violence' (and female narratives within the album) would exist in the way they do.

"On every album we get remixes but given the themes of this record, we had the idea that maybe we could get a song reimagined by a composer who has worked in that cinematic universe. John was top of our wishlist but we never really thought he'd reply, let alone that he'd send back something better than the original."

Carpenter commented: "Chvrches reached out to us through our tour manager, asking if we would be interested in remixing one of their songs for their upcoming album. They sent us three or four tracks for us to listen to and decide which one we wanted to remix, and we went from there. We chose the track we did because we connected with it the most and felt it would adapt best to our style. After we finished our remix, we asked them if they could also remix one of our songs in return, and they thought it was a great idea."

Chvrches will release the follow-up to 2018's 'Love is Dead' on August 27, followed by a North American tour throughout November and December. They also have UK shows in the diary for March 2022. Tickets are on sale now.

Chvrches Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Tue November 09 2021 - HOUSTON Texas - White Oak Music Hall (USA)
Wed November 10 2021 - AUSTIN Texas - Austin City Limits Live at The Moody Theater (USA)
Thu November 11 2021 - AUSTIN Texas - Austin City Limits Live at The Moody Theater (USA)
Fri November 12 2021 - AUSTIN Texas - Austin City Limits Live at The Moody Theater (USA)
Sun November 14 2021 - DALLAS Texas - South Side Ballroom (USA)
Mon November 15 2021 - TULSA Oklahoma - Cains Ballroom (USA)
Wed November 17 2021 - MINNEAPOLIS Minnesota - Armory (USA)
Thu November 18 2021 - MILWAUKEE Wisconsin - Riverside Theatre (USA)
Fri November 19 2021 - CHICAGO Illinois - Aragon Ballroom (USA)
Sat November 20 2021 - COLUMBUS Ohio - EXPRESS LIVE! (USA)
Mon November 22 2021 - PITTSBURGH Pennsylvania - Stage AE (USA)
Tue November 23 2021 - ROYAL OAK Michigan - Royal Oak Music Theatre (USA)
Wed November 24 2021 - TORONTO Ontario - History (Canada)
Fri November 26 2021 - NEW YORK New York - Terminal 5 (USA)
Sat November 27 2021 - NEW YORK New York - Terminal 5 (USA)
Tue November 30 2021 - WASHINGTON District of Columbia - Anthem (USA)
Wed December 01 2021 - BOSTON Massachusetts - House Of Blues (USA)
Thu December 02 2021 - NEW HAVEN Connecticut - College Street Music Hall (USA)
Fri December 03 2021 - PHILADELPHIA Pennsylvania - Franklin Music Hall (USA)
Sun December 05 2021 - NEWPORT Kentucky - PromoWest Pavilion at OVATION (USA)
Mon December 06 2021 - ST LOUIS Missouri - Pageant (USA)
Wed December 08 2021 - DENVER Colorado - Mission Ballroom (USA)
Thu December 09 2021 - BOULDER Colorado - Theatre (USA)
Fri December 10 2021 - SALT LAKE CITY Utah - Union (USA)
Sat December 11 2021 - LAS VEGAS Nevada - Brooklyn Bowl (USA)
Mon December 13 2021 - SAN DIEGO California - Observatory North Park (USA)
Tue December 14 2021 - SAN DIEGO California - Observatory North Park (USA)
Thu December 16 2021 - SAN FRANCISCO California - Bill Graham Civic Auditorium (USA)
Fri December 17 2021 - LOS ANGELES California - Hollywood Palladium (USA)

Mon March 14 2022 - EDINBURGH Edinburgh Corn Exchange
Tue March 15 2022 - NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE O2 City Hall
Wed March 16 2022 - LONDON O2 Academy Brixton
Fri March 18 2022 - BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy Birmingham
Sat March 19 2022 - MANCHESTER O2 Apollo

Compare & Buy Chvrches Tickets at Stereoboard.com.



Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

Tue 07 Sep 2021
Chvrches - Screen Violence (Album Review)
Tue 24 Aug 2021
Chvrches Confirm Intimate Shows In Dundee And Glasgow For Spring 2022
Fri 23 Jul 2021
Chvrches Tickets For March 2022 UK Tour On Sale 9.30am Today
Fri 16 Jul 2021
Chvrches Share New Music Video For Single Good Girls
Tue 13 Jul 2021
Chvrches Announce UK Tour For March 2022, Share New Single Good Girls
 
< Prev   Next >