Home > News & Reviews > Mastodon

Mastodon Announce Ninth Album 'Hushed And Grim', Share New Track Pushing The Tides

Friday, 10 September 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Clay Patrick McBride

Mastodon have shared details of their ninth studio album.

Having collaborated with David Bottrill behind the control desk in their hometown of Atlanta, the rock giants will release 'Hushed And Grim' on October 29 via Reprise Records. It'll mark their first double LP and their first full-length since their 2017 Grammy Award-winning LP 'Emperor Of Sand'.

The news arrives with the first single, Pushing The Tides, a blend of technical flourishes, changing time signatures and earth-shuddering riffage. Head below to check it out, along with the record's 15-song tracklist and cover art by Paul Romano.

In 2020, Mastodon released a compilation called 'Medium Rarities', and put out new songs on the Bill & Ted Face The Music and Dark Nights: Death Metal soundtracks. 

They'll play a handful of US festivals this autumn, and return to the UK's Download festival in summer 2022, following the event's cancellation in 2020 and 2021.

'Hushed And Grim' tracklist:

Disc 1
1. Pain With An Anchor
2. The Crux
3. Sickle And Peace
4. More Than I Could Chew
5. The Beast
6. Skeleton Of Splendor
7. Teardrinker
8. Pushing The Tides

Disc 2
1. Peace And Tranquility
2. Dagger
3. Had It All
4. Savage Lands
5. Gobblers Of Dregs
6. Eyes Of Serpents
7. Gigantium


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Wed 13 Jul 2022
Mastodon Unveil More Than I Could Chew Video
Thu 21 Oct 2021
Mastodon Drop New Track Sickle And Peace
Fri 01 Oct 2021
Mastodon Share New Track Teardrinker From Upcoming Album 'Hushed And Grim'
< Prev   Next >