Home > News & Reviews > Cate Le Bon

Cate Le Bon Announces New Album 'Pompeii' And Accompanying Tour, Shares Lead Single Running Away

Tuesday, 12 October 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: H Hawkline

Cate Le Bon has shared details of her sixth studio album.

The follow-up to 2019's 'Reward' is called 'Pompeii' and will arrive on February 4 via Mexican Summer. It was written mainly alone, on bass, and recorded almost entirely by the Welsh artist with long-term co-producer Samur Khouja in what Le Bon calls an "uninterrupted vacuum" in Cardiff, Wales. She commented:

"'Pompeii' was written and recorded in a quagmire of unease. Solo. In a time warp. In a house I had a life in 15 years ago. I grappled with existence, resignation and faith. I felt culpable for the mess but it smacked hard of the collective guilt imposed by religion and original sin. 

"The subtitle is: You will be forever connected to everything. Which, depending on the time of day, is as comforting as it is terrifying. The sense of finality has always been here. It seems strangely hopeful. Someone is playing with the focus lens. The world is on fire, but the bins must go out on a Tuesday night. Political dissonance meets beauty regimes. I put a groove behind it for something to hold on to. The grief is in the saxophones."

Playing nearly every instrument featured on 'Pompeii', except drums and saxophones, Le Bon has also unveiled the record's lead single, Running Away, which arrives with a video directed by long-time collaborator Casey Raymond and shot in The Factory in Porth, Wales.

Cast across a disorienting art-pop aesthetic, the song meanders through eerie synth-laded moments, with passages of dark, slinky new wave in the mix. It also features saxophonist Euan Hinshelwood. Press play below next to the LP's artwork and tracklist.

Le Bon will support the release with newly announced tour dates in North America, the UK and Europe in February, March and April. Tickets go on general sale at 10am BST on October 15.

'Pompeii' tracklist:

1. Dirt on the Bed
2. Moderation
3. French Boys
4. Pompeii
5. Harbour 
6. Running Away
7. Cry Me Old Trouble
8. Remembering Me
9. Wheel

Cate Le Bon Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Mon March 14 2022 - SOUTHAMPTON Engine Rooms
Tue March 15 2022 - LONDON Hackney Empire
Wed March 16 2022 - MANCHESTER Albert Hall
Thu March 17 2022 - GLASGOW SWG3
Fri March 18 2022 - BELFAST Empire Music Hall
Sat March 19 2022 - DUBLIN National Concert Hall
Mon March 21 2022 - LIVERPOOL Arts Club
Tue March 22 2022 - LEEDS Irish Centre
Wed March 23 2022 - BIRMINGHAM Mill
Mon March 28 2022 - LILLE Aeronef (France)
Tue March 29 2022 - PARIS La Maroquinerie (France)
Thu March 31 2022 - LYON Epicerie Moderne (France)
Fri April 01 2022 - ZURICH Bogen F (Switzerland)
Sat April 02 2022 - SCHORNDORF Manufaktur (Germany)
Sun April 03 2022 - LEIPZIG UT Connewitz (Germany)
Tue April 05 2022 - BERLIN Franzz Club (Germany)
Wed April 06 2022 - HAMBURG Nochtspeicher (Germany)
Thu April 07 2022 - STOCKHOLM Slaktkyrkan (Sweden)
Fri April 08 2022 - OSLO Parkteatret (Norway)
Sat April 09 2022 - COPENHAGEN Vega (Denmark)
Mon April 11 2022 - BRUSSELS AB Box (Belgium)
Tue April 12 2022 - AMSTERDAM Paradiso (Netherlands)

Compare & Buy Cate Le Bon Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

NOTE FROM THE EDITOR

We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!


Let Us Know Your Thoughts




Related News

Wed 09 Feb 2022
Cate Le Bon - Pompeii (Album Review)
Tue 11 Jan 2022
Cate Le Bon Posts Video For New Single Remembering Me
Wed 17 Nov 2021
Cate Le Bon Shares New Track Moderation
 
< Prev   Next >