Home > News & Reviews > Katie Melua

Katie Melua Details Acoustic Version Of 'Album No.8', Shares Remind Me To Forget With Simon Goff

Tuesday, 19 October 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Katie Melua has announced 'Acoustic Album No. 8'.

The record will arrive on November 26 and comprise stripped back reworkings of tracks from her 2020 album. Produced by her brother Zurab Melua, the record is previewed by the breezy overhaul of Remind Me To Forget, a collaboration with two-time Grammy Award-winning violinist Simon Goff. Melua commented:

"I'm proud of these songs and missed being able to tour around the release of the album last year. Performing them in this distilled way has given them a new lease of life. Zurab has a brilliant mind and we were able to do everything, apart from mastering, at home which is in a beautiful part of London. I think the tranquillity and the green park around the area is part of the atmosphere on the record."

Zurab added: "The aim was to have a recording that sounded like a live intimate concert. So we simply played through the entire album a couple of times and Katie asked her long-time collaborator Mark Edwards to add some parts, and then we had Simon Goff play violin on two of the tracks - as Katie says, their musical instincts are just perfect. Some of the changes from the original songs are quite subtle, some like A Love Like That are more drastic. I'm pleased with how it came out."

Surrounded by the warming tone of Goff's violin, the new number combines Melua's lush vocals and mournful guitar work. Introducing it, she explained:

"I'm such a fan of Simon Goff's music so I got in touch with him to see if he wanted to work on a few projects together. It’s been an absolute honor, he put down the most cinematic, wind-like and earthy violin on Remind Me To Forget and it makes me immeasurably proud."

'Acoustic Album No. 8' tracklist:

1. Joy
2. English Manner
3. Leaving The Mountain
4. Voices In The Night
5. Maybe I Dreamt It (featuring Simon Goff)
6. Heading Home
7. Your Longing Is Gone
8. Airtime
9. Remind Me To Forget (featuring Simon Goff)
10. No Better Magic
11. A Love Like That

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

No related news to show
< Prev   Next >