Home > News & Reviews > Mastodon

Mastodon Unveil New Song Forged By Neron From Upcoming Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack

Wednesday, 12 May 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Photo: Jimmy Hubbard

Mastodon have unveiled a new song.

Forged By Neron taps into the Atlanta band's formula of balancing progressive rock with melodic sludge, and serves as the opener for the upcoming soundtrack to DC's crossover series, Dark Nights: Death Metal. Drummer Brann Dailor said:

"We are super excited and honoured to be part of the Dark Nights: Death Metal soundtrack! We've all been fans of DC Comics and the Batman universe since we were kids, so it really means a lot for us to be able to add something to that world."

In addition to Mastodon's monster riffing, the Tyler Bates-produced collection also boasts original songs from the likes of Chelsea Wolfe, Denzel Curry, HEALTH with Deftones' Chino Moreno, Idles, and former Dillinger Escape Plan frontman Greg Puciato. It'll be released digitally on June 18, with a physical version landing on July 16. In the meantime, head below to view the tracklist and artwork.

In 2020, Mastodon dropped Fallen Torches featuring guest vocals from longtime friend and collaborator Neurosis' Scott Kelly. The track appears on 'Medium Rarities', out now.

'Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack' tracklist:

1. Mastodon - Forged by Neron
2. Chelsea Wolfe - Diana
3. HEALTH, Tyler Bates - ANTI-LIFE (feat. Chino Moreno)
4. Maria Brink, Tyler Bates - Meet Me In Fire (feat. Andy Biersack)
5. Grey Daze - Anything, Anything
6. Rise Against - Broken Dreams, Inc.
7. Manchester Orchestra - Never Ending
8. Denzel Curry, PlayThatBoiZay - Bad Luck
9. Carach Angren - Skull With a Forked Tongue
10. Starcrawler - Good Time Girl
11. GUNSHIP, Tyler Bates - Berserker (feat. Dave Lombardo)
12. Greg Puciato, Tyler Bates, Gil Sharone - Now You've Really Done It
13. Show Me the Body - Stone Cold Earth
14. Idles - Sodium
15. Soccer Mommy - Kissing in the Rain


We don't run any advertising! Our editorial content is solely funded by lovely people like yourself using Stereoboard's listings when buying tickets for live events. To keep supporting us, next time you're looking for concert, festival, sport or theatre tickets, please search for "Stereoboard". It costs you nothing, you may find a better price than the usual outlets, and save yourself from waiting in an endless queue on Friday mornings as we list ALL available sellers!

Let Us Know Your Thoughts

Related News

Wed 13 Jul 2022
Mastodon Unveil More Than I Could Chew Video
< Prev   Next >