Home > News & Reviews > Smith Kotzen

Adrian Smith And Richie Kotzen Line Up March Release For Debut Album 'Smith/Kotzen'

Wednesday, 27 January 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Iron Maiden's Adrian Smith and the Winery Dogs' Richie Kotzen have shared details of the debut LP from their new Smith/Kotzen project.

After teasing the band in 2020, the self-titled record will arrive on March 26 via BMG and feature the previously released first single Taking My Chances. The track now has an accompanying video shot in both Los Angeles and London.

Produced and co-written by the pair, with mixing by Kevin Shirley, the album was recorded on the Turks and Caicos Islands in February 2020. It boasts guests contributions from Smith's fellow Iron Maiden bandmate Nicko McBrain and Kotzen's friend and touring collaborator Tal Bergman. Smith said:

"Richie and I started working together a couple of years ago. We'd been jamming as we'd been friends for a few years before that. We both share a love for classic rock and bluesy rock so we decided to get together and start writing some songs and it went from there. Pretty much everything on the album is handled between Richie and myself including the production. We had developed a really strong idea of how we wanted it to sound and I’m very pleased with how it turned out. There’s a lot of cool songs on there that we are really happy with."

Kotzen added: "We had a very fluid process in writing. Sometimes Adrian would send me a riff and I would immediately hear some kind of melody or a vocal idea. And sometimes it was the other way round so it was a kind of circular motion. We’d get together whenever we could and throw some ideas around and it just evolved, which was great because there was no pressure and nothing other than just a natural course and I think the record really speaks for that."

Smith will be performing with Iron Maiden on their Legacy Of The Beast Tour in the summer. Head below for details.

'Smith/Kotzen' tracklist:

1. Taking My Chances
2. Running
3. Scars
4. Some People
5. Glory Road
6. Solar Fire
7. You Don’t Know Me
8. I Wanna Stay
9. 'Til Tomorrow

Iron Maiden Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Sat June 05 2021 - BASEL St Jakobshalle (Switzerland)
Mon June 07 2021 - ZAGREB Arena (Croatia)
Wed June 09 2021 - BUDAPEST Grouparama Arena (Hungary)
Fri June 11 2021 - WARSAW PGE Narodowy (Poland)
Sun June 13 2021 - BREMEN Buergerweide (Germany)
Tue June 15 2021 - PRAGUE Sinobo Stadium (Czech Republic)
Wed June 16 2021 - WIENER NEUSTAD Stadium Open Air (Austria)
Sat June 19 2021 - BARCELONA Olympic Stadium (Spain)
Mon June 21 2021 - LISBON Estadio Nacional (Portugal)
Thu June 24 2021 - BOLOGNA Sonic Park (Italy)
Sat June 26 2021 - STUTTGART Mercedes Benz Arena (Germany)
Sun June 27 2021 - ANTWERP Sportpalais (Belgium)
Wed June 30 2021 - BERLIN Waldbuehne (Germany)
Sat July 03 2021 - GOTHENBURG Ullevi Stadium (Sweden)
Tue July 06 2021 - FRANKFURT Deutsche Bank Park (Germany)
Thu July 08 2021 - COLOGNE Rhein Energie Stadium (Germany)
Sat July 10 2021 - ANRNHEM Gelredome (Netherlands)
Sun July 11 2021 - PARIS PARIS LA DEFENSE ARENA (France)

Compare & Buy Iron Maiden Tickets at Stereoboard.com.



Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!




Related News

Thu 10 Dec 2020
Iron Maiden's Adrian Smith Teams Up With Richie Kotzen For New Project, Shares Debut Single
 
< Prev   Next >