Home > News & Reviews > Elvis Costello

Elvis Costello And The Imposters Announce New Album 'The Boy Named If'

Wednesday, 27 October 2021 Written by Jon Stickler

Elvis Costello and The Imposters have shared details of a new album.

'The Boy Named If' was co-produced by Costello alongside Sebastian Krys and follows the singer-songwriter's 2020 studio full-length, 'Hey Clockface', and the French-language EP featuring interpretations of 'Hey Clockface' songs.

He also put out the 'La Face de Pendule à Coucou' EP earlier in 2021, and an all-Spanish version of his 1978 LP 'This Year's Model'. Costello commented:

"The full title of this record is 'The Boy Named If (And Other Children’s Stories).' IF, is a nickname for your imaginary friend; your secret self, the one who knows everything you deny, the one you blame for the shattered crockery and the hearts you break, even your own. You can hear more about this Boy in a song of the same name."

Set for release on January 14 via EMI/Capitol Records, 'The Boy Named If' is previewed by the charged-up single Magnificent Hurt, a bright rocker that's reminiscent of his early work. Touching on the lyrics, he added:

"Once upon a time, when I didn’t know what a kiss could do and didn’t even dare to caress, the way ahead was a mystery; a departing from that magic state called innocence for the pain that leads to pleasure and all that jazz."

He said that the 13 tracks, "take us from the last days of a bewildered boyhood to that mortifying moment when you are told to stop acting like a child - which for most men (and perhaps a few gals too) can be any time in the next fifty years." 

Costello recently kicked off his North American Hello Again Tour, which runs through to November. Head below for dates and ticket details.


'The Boy Named If' tracklist: 

1. Farewell, OK
2. The Boy Named If
3. Penelope Halfpenny
4. The Difference
5. What If I Can’t Give You Anything but Love?
6. Paint the Red Rose Blue
7. Mistook Me for a Friend
8. My Most Beautiful Mistake (featuring Nicole Atkins)
9. Magnificent Hurt
10. The Man You Love to Hate
11. The Death of Magic Thinking
12. Trick Out the Truth
13. Mr. Crescent

Elvis Costello Upcoming Tour Dates are as follows

Thu October 28 2021 - PROVIDENCE Rhode Island - Providence Performing Arts Center (USA)
Fri October 29 2021 - PORTSMOUTH VA New Hampshire - Music Hall (USA)
Sat October 30 2021 - BROOKVILLE New York - Tilles Center for the Performing Arts (USA)
Tue November 02 2021 - ANN ARBOR Michigan - Michigan Theater (USA)
Wed November 03 2021 - CHICAGO Illinois - Chicago Theatre (USA)
Thu November 04 2021 - PRIOR LAKE Minnesota - Mystic Lake Casino Hotel (USA)
Sat November 06 2021 - MADISON Wisconsin - Sylvee (USA)
Sun November 07 2021 - INDIANAPOLIS Indiana - Murat Theatre at Old National Centre (USA)
Wed November 10 2021 - PHOENIX Arizona - Arizona Federal Theatre (USA)
Thu November 11 2021 - EL CAJON California - Magnolia El Cajon (USA)
Sat November 13 2021 - LOS ANGELES California - YouTube Theater (USA)
Sun November 14 2021 - OAKLAND California - Fox Theater Oakland (USA)

Compare & Buy Elvis Costello Tickets at Stereoboard.com.

Let Us Know What You Think - Leave A Comment!

Related News

Wed 21 Jul 2021
Elvis Costello And The Imposters Announce Fall US Tour
< Prev   Next >